A Time to be Quiet

On May 28, 2010 at 8:08am, I received a text from a friend that read:

The LORD your God is with you, He is mighty to save.  He will take great delight in you; He will quiet you with His love; He will rejoice over you with singing.  (Zephaniah 3:17)

I don’t save many texts because my phone doesn’t have much memory.  But, I felt an urgency to heed this Word and save that text.

Nine days later at 1:46pm, I received a phone call that my father was in a fatal motorcycle wreck.  I was plunged into a realm of chaos and confusion unlike I’d ever known.  Just as there were bits and pieces of a bright red motorcycle strown on the highway of a small Texas town, I sensed an even greater number of shattered emotional pieces from my own wrecked world filling the recesses of my broken heart.

The commotion of bewilderment was a noisy turbulence inside my soul.  There was a deep need for rest and quiet which led me back to the time-tested, secret place of retreat and refreshment I can only find in spending time with my God.

It was then I was reminded of my friend’s text nine days earlier.

He will quiet you with His love.

God is no stranger to death.  He watched His very own Son die.  And He is the One who gently, yet thoroughly, brought me quietness with His love.

In the midst of chaos, confusion and commotion there is…

A Time to be Quiet

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your comments are treasured

