Maw Maw DuBee’s Corn Casserole

Belated Christmas present - Early American pattern

This is so unhealthy I can’t even believe I’m admitting to cooking this.  However, it is so yummy I can’t keep it from you, either!  I am asked for this recipe time and time again.  With Thanksgiving and Christmas around the corner, here’s a very easy recipe that’s sure to please anyone (just don’t share the ingredients with the health-conscious folks!).

My husband’s grandmother (“Maw Maw DuBee”) realized, years ago, I’d be bringing “healthy” food to her family gatherings if she didn’t offer me an easy recipe which was more pleasing to her palate.  So, she shared her Corn Casserole recipe with me, and it’s now a given I’m bringing this dish to every family and church function.

So, in honor of Maw Maw DuBee (and despite my nutrition convictions), here’s to Corn Casserole!

  • Two 15 oz cans whole kernel corn
  • Two 15 oz cans cream style corn
  • Two packages Jiffy Corn Bread/Muffin Mix
  • 16 oz. sour cream
  • One stick butter (real butter)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Slice stick of butter into about 5 pieces and lay on bottom of oblong casserole dish.  Place in oven while preheating so butter melts.

Mix all other ingredients in bowl with wooden spoon.  Remove dish from oven and spread mixture on top of butter.  Cook for 40-50 minutes (until edges turn golden brown).  Serve hot.

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Maw Maw DuBee’s Corn Casserole

  1. Pingback: Making the “corn stuff” « Bubbling On The Stove

  2. Lynn says:

    This sounds very similar to a delicious corn casserole I had years ago at a friend’s Thanksgiving potluck. I’ve always regretted not asking for the recipe. I plan to make this dish for our Christmas dinner, even if it isn’t healthy. Do you think light sour cream would affect the taste or texture?

    • This recipe is so delicious! I made three of these for Thanksgiving (different gatherings) because I’m expected to arrive with this dish.

      I am not sure how the light sour cream would affect the taste/texture. I’d imagine it’d not matter at all; but I’ve not tried using the light version. The casserole is seriously so unhealthy that I just go for the gusto and use the fatty butter and sour cream. 🙂

  3. Caddo Veil says:

    I am SO hungry, reading this!! I don’t think I’ll bother waiting for an “occasion”–I think it would go really well with all the ham I have left over from Easter… Thanks for the recipe, and for your recent visit to my blog. I definitely need to get back over here soon… God bless you abundantly today, and always!

    • Cristal says:

      This corn casserole is a definite favorite. We don’t eat it often (maybe once a year) because of some nutritional needs/requirements in our family. But, it’s certainly a special treat!

Your comments are treasured

