My ESSENTIAL Oils

Years ago, we brought our son to a doctor (my husband would prefer I use the term “doctor” loosely) for a rash which found a home on his back for some time.  She prescribed Essential Oils for internal and external treatment.  I was absolutely amazed at the restorative ability of the God-given, fragrant and healing droplets.  From that point, I have been sold on the benefits of Essential Oils. 

There are four oils which I consider essential and have on hand.  These are Peppermint Oil, Tea Tree Oil, Lavender Oil and Orange Oil.   

I keep Peppermint Oil in my purse.  We use this for upset stomachs (put a drop on tongue or in water).  It’s also a nice breath “mint” (without the added sugar).  If you have empty capsules, add a few drops in a capsule and swallow to ease indigestion.  For headaches, put 2-3 drops of Peppermint Oil in palm of hand, using fingers of other hand apply to temples (stay away from eyes!) then rub hands together, bring to nose and breathe deeply. 

We regularly use Tea Tree Oil for numerous remedies.  This is an all-around essential for my boys frequent skin wounds and teenage acne (if you can convince your teenager to use it regularly).  My friends with long-haired daughters use Tea Tree Oil to prevent and treat lice.  We use Tea Tree undiluted; but you may want to add to carrier oil for sensitive skin. 

Lavender Oil is my favorite.  I love the scent of this aromatic plant.  This oil is amazing at healing burns (apply directly to skin).  It goes well in homemade facial toner (mix Lavender, Tea Tree, & Orange with aloe vera juice and witch hazel in a spritzer bottle).  We use Lavender Oil to treat ear pain/congestion as well.  Put a few drops on small cotton ball (large enough to not find its way into the ear canal) and set gently in ear (with the drops facing the ear opening).  Again, I don’t dilute this oil, but you may prefer to add to a carrier oil.

Orange Oil has become a favorite in our home due to an incident I had with basal-cell carcinoma.  Upon research, Orange Oil is a preventative and treatment for skin cancer.  The uplifting scent is refreshing.  Apply straight to skin (unless sensitive, then dilute with carrier oil).

 A great resource for remedy searches (using oils, herbs, etc) is Well Tell Me.

I prefer to buy oils which are known to be of therapeutic quality.  There are many resources for buying these oils (depending on how much money you want to spend).  I have purchased oils from Young Living, Rocky Mountain Oils and NOW (through iHerb at bottom of this page).  I find the NOW oils most affordable and to work as well as the others.

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My ESSENTIAL Oils

  1. Kelly Richins says:

    Thanks for linking my blog! I use essential oils on my family every day, we could swap stories!

  2. Would love to swap stories, Kelly!

  3. Chrystal says:

    I actually talked to some people last December who sold essentials oils about all their healing properties. I bought a couple of samples (peppermint, lavender & lemon) but haven’t really used them. Thanks for the reminder and the info!

    • Chrystal says:

      I actually use handcrafted soap that has lavender essential oil in it because I had ecxema & it has really helped!

    • Cristal says:

      I keep peppermint with me always. It’s my favorite. We were out of town at a basketball tournament and my friend’s daughter became very nauseous. I put a drop of peppermint in her belly button and she was feeling much better in a short time. God gave us some amazing natural remedies!

Your comments are treasured

