My Joy…Your Joy

My Joy…Your Joy

These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may remain in you, and that your joy may be full —John 15:11

What was the joy that Jesus had? Joy should not be confused with happiness. In fact, it is an insult to Jesus Christ to use the word happiness in connection with Him. The joy of Jesus was His absolute self-surrender and self-sacrifice to His Father— the joy of doing that which the Father sent Him to do— “. . . who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross . . .” (Hebrews 12:2). “I delight to do Your will, O my God…” (Psalm 40:8).

Jesus prayed that our joy might continue fulfilling itself until it becomes the same joy as His.

Have I allowed Jesus Christ to introduce His joy to me?

Living a full and overflowing life does not rest in bodily health, in circumstances, nor even in seeing God’s work succeed, but in the perfect understanding of God, and in the same fellowship and oneness with Him that Jesus Himself enjoyed.

But the first thing that will hinder this joy is the subtle irritability caused by giving too much thought to our circumstances. Jesus said, “. . . the cares of this world, . . . choke the word, and it becomes unfruitful” (Mark 4:19). And before we even realize what has happened, we are caught up in our cares. All that God has done for us is merely the threshold— He wants us to come to the place where we will be His witnesses and proclaim who Jesus is.

Have the right relationship with God, finding your joy there, and out of you “will flow rivers of living water” (John 7:38). Be a fountain through which Jesus can pour His “living water.”

Stop being hypocritical and proud, aware only of yourself, and live “your life . . . hidden with Christ in God” (Colossians 3:3). A person who has the right relationship with God lives a life as natural as breathing wherever he goes. The lives that have been the greatest blessing to you are the lives of those people who themselves were unaware of having been a blessing.

(by Oswald Chambers)

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Joy…Your Joy

  1. dschondog says:

    Cristal,

    the subtle irritability caused by giving too much thought to our circumstances. This may be key to my joylessness. I spend a lot of time on my circumstances. I think I need to fight injustices that I see, but the fight is in the hands of the Lord and I need not fret (give too much thought to) the fight. I am not the commander. I need only take the next step. I’m not exactly sure where my responsibility ends, I guess. As you say, “I must ponder this more.”

    Dawn

    • Dawn,

      This scripture comes to mind: No soldier when in service gets entangled in the affairs of this civilian life; his aim is to satisfy and please the One who chose him to be a soldier — 2 Timothy 2:4. I have this taped to my bathroom mirror (so I can be reminded daily).

      Cristal

  2. Pingback: Jesus-The Source of Peace | Good Devotionals

  3. pbus1 says:

    Hello,

    This is my first visit to your blog. I became aware of your blog, because of the Pingback sent to one of my blogging friends’ blogs. The title of your article arrested my attention. Truly, the joy of the Lord is my strength! “Have the right relationship with God, finding your joy there, and out of you “will flow rivers of living water” (John 7:38).” Our joy will be full, only when we are in a right relationship with the Lord. Recently, I posted a blog with a similar focus. I hope you won’t mind my sharing the link with you. http://pbus1.wordpress.com/2011/11/15/joy-or-happiness-2/

    I plan to visit your blog again soon. God bless you.

    Paulette

    • Paulette,

      Thank you for sharing the link! I read your article and am reminded there’s such a remarkable difference between “happiness” and “joy.” Finding our joy in Christ is a treasure.

      Cristal

  4. Celebrating Eve says:

    Amen! I absolutely love that verse. I also am challenged by Oswald Chambers perspective. I have been studying the idea of JOY for a bit particularly the preceding verses to verse 11 and even the entire conversation that Jesus was having with the disciples in the previous chapters. A few things that jumped out to me were that in order to experience the joy Jesus experienced we really must understand the nature of our relationship with Him and the Father. We are connected. In the truest sense. We are in Jesus, Jesus is in us, and We are in the Father. He is the true vine, the Father is the vinedresser and we are the branches. It seems that fully receiving that truth in our hearts and on an emotional level goes a long way to being able to abide in him, follow his instructions, receive his love, and thus His complete joy. This I believe is a key marker in our journey.
    Kerry Ann

    • You are such a jewel, Kerry Ann. Thank you for your insight. It’s that connection you spoke of which truly brings the joy of Christ to the surface (no matter what happy feelings might be lacking).

      Happy Thanksgiving!

      Cristal

  5. “Have the right relationship with God, finding your joy there, and out of you “will flow rivers of living water” (John 7:38).”
    This is so absolutely true!
    Resting completely in Him we can say fully and entirely… the joy of the Lord is my strength…
    no matter the circumstances.
    May ‘Living Water’ flow ever so purely from His own and bring life to many…
    Blessings in Him Cristal

  6. Pingback: Be A Blessing To Others! Choose To Live A Meaningful Life; By Watering Others, You Water Yourself | God Loves Bummyla

Your comments are treasured

