My Jolly Roger

I compromised today.

But it was cold.

And Jolly Roger looked so warm.

Let me explain.

For many years, I have held firm to boycotting the symbol representing my husband’s high school football team.  A skull and crossbones.  I don’t do death.

My Pirate attire consists of clean logos like this…

And our family opts out of opportunities to take the Friday night football program photo in front of this…

But, today, avast ye, matey!  It was a wintry-bleak kind of cold.  As I pulled toasty laundry from the dryer, shiver me timbers, my husband’s Pirate flag sweatshirt beckoned me to wrap up in a buccaneer bouquet of warmth.  It was balmy booty awaiting discovery.  (That’s treasure, people).

A dilemma arose.  Do I break years of conviction for comfort?  Do I compromise for convenience?

Aye, fellow swashbuckler!  No one’s watching.

Within minutes of giving in, I felt awful.  What if my little man noticed?  Or what if someone pulled up in the driveway.  Or what if death leapt from the shirt to my soul.  (Okay.  Not really on the last one.  But, you must agree the skull and crossbones image is creepy).

Sure, it’s just a shirt.  Granted, it might be an odd conviction, as well.  (And I’m not asking you to borrow it.   You can wear death as often as you choose.  Just put something between you and the shirt.  You know.  In case, the leaping does actually occur.)  But, the guilt was growing.  I was ready to walk the plank!

Thankfully, my compromise was a simple shirt I could quickly shed.  And you can laugh at this whole dilemma.

How often, however, are deep convictions broken for convenience and comfort.  Concessions which are costly. Following the flesh in spite of the Spiritual warnings.

No more lures of Jolly Roger.  Even the warm and toasty on a frigid day.

I say then, walk by the Spirit and you will not carry out the desire of the flesh.  For the flesh desires what is against the Spirit, and the Spirit desires what is against the flesh; these are opposed to each other, so that you don’t do what you want. But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under the law.

Now the works of the flesh are obvious: sexual immorality, moral impurity, promiscuity, idolatry, sorcery, hatreds, strife, jealousy, outbursts of anger, selfish ambitions, dissensions, factions, envy, drunkenness, carousing,and anything similar, about which I tell you in advance—as I told you before—that those who practice such things will not inherit the kingdom of God.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faith, gentleness, self-control. Against such things there is no law.  Now those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. If we live by the Spirit, we must also follow the Spirit. (Galatians 5:16-25)

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My Jolly Roger

  1. Celebrating Eve says:

    I love this! I feel the same when. I have been practicing a Vegan lifestyle for a few years now and blow it so often. Especially around cheese 🙂 Its gotten to the point where my family is calling it Vegan-lite. Thank God my faith doesn’t depend on it. This was a great post.

    • Kerry-Ann, I also need to follow a vegan diet plus grain-avoidance for my health. I feel so much better when I avoid animal and grains. When I fall off the wagon, though, I pay big style! Those dietary compromises come with a price.

  2. Romans 14:5-8, 12, 14, 22-23
    5 One person esteems one day above another; another esteems every day alike. Let each be fully convinced in his own mind. 6 He who observes the day, observes it to the Lord and he who does not observe the day, to the Lord he does not observe it. He who eats, eats to the Lord, for he gives God thanks; and he who does not eat, to the Lord he does not eat, and gives God thanks. 7 For none of us lives to himself, and no one dies to himself. 8 For if we live, we live to the Lord; and if we die, we die to the Lord. Therefore, whether we live or die, we are the Lord’s.

    12 So then each of us shall give account of himself to God.

    14 I know and am convinced by the Lord Jesus that there is nothing unclean of itself; but to him who considers anything to be unclean, to him it is unclean.

    22 Do you have faith? Have it to yourself before God. Happy is he who does not condemn himself in what he approves. 23 But he who doubts is condemned if he eats, because he does not eat from faith; for whatever is not from faith is sin.

  3. dschondog says:

    Dear Cristal,

    Concessions which are costly! This is my dilemma as I am “on call” from 3 am – 7 am. If they call me in to work an area of the hospital for which I have not been oriented and for which I have no qualifications to work, I can not do it. My hospital is operating in survival mode. I can’t concede. Policy says I was hired into a specialty unit and I cannot be pulled. Please pray with me?

    Dawn

    • Dear Dawn,

      I am sorry for your dilemma. It certainly sounds like an unwelcome lure for compromise – yet a worthy cause at the same time. And I agree to pray with you about this. I will truly pray. Please keep me updated.

      Cristal

  4. I agree about putting on ‘deathly’ things…ugh… I want to feel life and represent it.
    And a warm and fuzzy out of the dryer? That is hard to refuse. That is exactly the choice we have to make every day with life around us…do we do it because our flesh loves it more than we want to bless Jesus…To the pure all things are pure…yes,the warm shirt would feel cozy, but what ‘would’ your little one think… would we stumble someone because of the liberty we take.
    Your post is good. I like it lots!
    And dear Dawn, I have been praying steadily for you and your situation. May God open a door of blessing… May He give you strength for each day as He grants you favour with God and man.

    • Susan — you hit a great point — causing others to stumble. Too often, we allow our “freedom” to enslave others or cause them to fall. Paul became all things to all men. His interest and his pursuit was for Christ and others. He might have struggled in the flesh with the lure of the warm and cozy but wouldn’t have put it on. I have a long way to go!

  5. Pingback: My Jolly Roger | Refusing to Tiptoe – Kingdom of God Worship Blogs

Your comments are treasured

