When the time comes

I finally replaced the batteries in our clock last week.   Time was standing still at 11:45.

My little man, who has daily deadlines for his home school work, enjoyed the hands of time remaining motionless.  And, for me, it was satisfying to finally beat the clock.

But, our fantasy world of crossing the finish line first in our race against time came to an end.

The clock is ticking again.

I had the opportunity, recently, to review the first forty years of my life and consider the ways I’d spent time.  If given an opportunity to relive the past, I’d erase the errors and mend the mistakes to be more pleasing to the Author of the ages.

This week, I’ve become aware of my daily, hurried rush against time.  Instead of living fully in each moment, savoring the beauty of existence, I am pushing through my days under the subjection of a list of man-created tasks.

Our lives are but a vapor.

Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will travel to such and such a city and spend a year there and do business and make a profit.”  You don’t even know what tomorrow will bring—what your life will be!  For you are a bit of smoke that appears for a little while, then vanishes.  (James 4:13-14)

Jim Elliot, a courageous man who died trying to share God with a tribe in Ecuador, expressed, “When the time comes to die, make sure all you have to do is die.”

When the time comes…

Since time is ticking, may we examine our lives.  When we cross the finish line and our earth clock ceases to tick, may we have no regrets…

Knowing we lived fully in the moment.

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When the time comes

  1. Celebrating Eve says:

    Living fully in the moment! True words. True words! Why is it so difficult?

    • Cristal says:

      It is difficult (for me) because I am often too focused on myself or (as you mentioned in your latest blog post) on what’s right in front of my eyes.

  2. Great post – succinct and important. Time is the great leveler – we all have the same amount allotted each day (as long as we have breath). What a priviledge to serve the Timeless One!

    My favorite Jim Elliot quote is “Forgive me for being so ordinary, while claiming to know such an extraordinary God.”

    May God richly bless your ministry for Him.

    BloggerBob

    • Cristal says:

      Yes, what a privilege…the Timeless One! And thank you for that quote; I’m going to hang onto that one. Glad to meet you, Bob, and looking forward to visiting your blog.

Your comments are treasured

