I’m expecting! {and you’re the first to read my good news}

With weather in the 80’s, wearing a t-shirt & shorts, Caleb stood with bare feet gazing out the dining room window and mused, “It hasn’t snowed lately.”

You live in Southeast Texas, child.  Were you expecting snow?

It’s possible he’s fondly reminiscing about Christmas with Grandma in Missouri.

(However, by the look on his face, the snow was frightening.)

Regardless, this child is anticipating snow.  Here.  In Texas.  With temperatures rising.

That’s what I love about Caleb.  His circumstances don’t dictate his expectations.

He’s the devoted football fan, with one minute left in the fourth quarter, scheming plays to win a game when we’re down by two touchdowns.  He expects to win.  The other fans are packing up and leaving the stands.  Caleb’s allegiance won’t budge.  He’s waiting for the victory.

As my doubtful mind absorbed the image of an expectant boy standing at the window looking for snow on the warm Texas horizon, my fair-weather faith blew briskly into the room.  Unfortunately, my circumstances do determine my expectations.  Short-lived anticipations fizzle quickly.  I am the fickle fan packing up my stadium seat in view of a loss.

Caleb’s steadfast devotion and childlike faith has reminded me to be expectant.  To anticipate and hope.  Regardless of the weather.  In spite of the scoreboard.

Wait for the Promise.

So, I’m expecting…

Mockers will come in the last days with scoffing…and say Where is the promise of His coming?

But we look for new heavens and a new earth according to His promise, in which righteousness is to abide.

So, beloved, since you are expecting these things, be eager to be found by Him [at His coming] without spot or blemish and at peace.

And consider that the long-suffering of our Lord [His slowness in avenging wrongs and judging the world] is salvation (that which is conducive to the soul’s safety)… (2 Peter 3:3b, 4a, 13-15a Amplified)

You might also enjoy:

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Faith, Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’m expecting! {and you’re the first to read my good news}

  1. dschondog says:

    Cristal,

    This is what I have always found so remarkable about Simeon and Anna. They were old, had waited all their lives for the coming of the Messiah. Yet! They waited. I don’t think they were idly waiting, however, because when that little baby came to be circumcised, Simeon and Anna knew it was the King of Kings. How? …and Simeon prophesied over Mary. He knew what was ahead for her. He KNEW! This knowing grips me. Was it faith (the evidence of things not seen) or could Simeon see? I must go to work at the hospital now so I have no time to ponder, but I am…

    Pondering,
    Dawn

    • Cristal says:

      Dawn,

      I have been studying Simeon and Anna this week in an Advent study and thought the same. They steadfastly waited AND expected. Tarrying didn’t seem to phase them.

      Cristal

  2. Celebrating Eve says:

    Cristal this has so many layers. I am still processing. However what I do know is that God is speaking to me through your post the need for me to embrace a more accurate view of the new heaven and new earth. So I can live in greater expectant here and now. Thank you so much!

  3. acupofbliss says:

    Thank you for reminding me again of the joyful expectancy that I should be walking in. I need to internalize this truth, and open my arms wide for the victory. Blessings!

    • Cristal says:

      I agree…To patiently expect would bring great delight to even daily and mundane situations. But, from reading your blog, you are well on your way to internalizing this truth. Blessings to you, too!

Your comments are treasured

