Looking past the ugly to taste the delightful

The weather today was rainy.  Gray skies.  Dreary.

The perfect day for warm and gooey homemade cookies. 

IMG_2934

I’m attempting to create a recipe.  A healthy-sugar, grain-free, dairy-free delight. 

And I have a helper.

A taste tester of sorts.

IMG_2915IMG_2926

We are on our second attempt.

IMG_2916IMG_2918

The cookies aren’t turning out lovely.

IMG_2922IMG_2917

But my taste tester said I shouldn’t judge a book by its cover.

IMG_2925IMG_2929

We still have more changes to make.  A little less coconut flour.  A tad more oil.  {And an attempt to make them pretty.}

IMG_2931

You’ll be the first to find out when we create the perfect healthy cookie.

I’d invite you to sink your taste buds into the ones we made today.

IMG_2935

But there are very few left. 

And my taste tester still hasn’t had dessert.

I’m linking up with gift seekers around the world on Mondays to enjoy God in the everyday.

Finding warmth in the wet downpours of life

Discovering grace in the gray and dreary

Creating yummy in a kitchen

Sharing chocolate with a child

Looking past the ugly and tasting the delightful

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Family, Thanks Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Looking past the ugly to taste the delightful

  1. abracknell says:

    I can’t wait for the final result, yummy healthy cookies! My favorite gift is “finding the warmth in the wet downpours of life.” What a great way of putting that!

    • Cristal says:

      Thank you for the kind comment. I have a sign in my kitchen that reads: Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass…it’s about learning to dance in the rain. That’s the warmth in the wetness.

      I’m glad to have connected with you in the blogging world!

      Cristal

  2. dschondog says:

    Crystal,

    This is so very priceless, cookie taster and all. I just might have to go downstairs and whip up a batch of cookies. I have all the ingredients. yeah, uh-huh, mmmm

    Growling stomach here,
    Dawn

  3. dschondog says:

    Sorry for the name misspell, Cristal, I pushed the publish button before I saw it.

  4. Celebrating Eve says:

    This is beautiful Cristal. When you perfect the recipe send it my way. Always looking for vegan cookies. The time you spent with your son is priceless. Awesome!!

  5. I love my cookie testers… it is always a celebration when the grown kids come home and Chocolate chip cookies are what we do best!
    loved seeing your son enjoying it all! And never judge a cookie by its cover! Couldn’t agree more!

Your comments are treasured

