What winners need to lose

It’s 4:30am when my alarm clock rings.  Well, not really rings.  It quacks.  I don’t have my own alarm clock.  I use my teenager’s iPod.  And he set the alarm to quack.  Four thirty in the morning.  Quack.  Quack.  Quack.

I’m used to it now.  And it reminds me to wake him up at the same time.  We head out the door at 4:45am to meet with a coach and other early birds at the gym.

Camden wants to be a Navy SEAL.  He found the best way to prepare for such a position is to train with a CrossFit coach.  We were blessed with the opportunity to become members at a local CrossFit gym.

Camden is thrilled.  And I’m along for the ride.  An early morning ride.

If you’ve never trained with a CrossFit coach, I will let you in on a secret.  Don’t do it.   It’s worth it.  He will challenge and push you to extreme measures.  But, it is satisfying to struggle through opposition (from one’s own body) and finally reach a finish line.

5746329012_037e34844d

Today, after our workout, our coach had us run 400 meters with weights in each hand, then drop the weights and run 400 meters without weights.  Actually, I think we were supposed to sprint.  Sprint.  Run.  Jog.  Walk.  It’s all the same to me at this point.

I picked up ten pound weights.  But, then my coach saw me.  (I’m going to have to figure out how to hide from him).  He traded the light weights for heavier ones.

The clock sounds and off we go.  Youthful participants like Camden dart out the door.  Mature ones like myself pace ourselves.

I actually see no one truly sprinting.  The weights are quite burdensome.  As in pulling my arms out of socket.  We finally finish 400 meters.  The weights are gladly dropped.  And now I see sprinting.  Not from myself but from the youthful.

As I dropped my weights and began to jog, I had an immediate sense of feeling lighter.  I could definitely run more easily without the heaviness holding me down.

That’s when God reminded me.

Therefore we also, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us… Hebrews 12:1

To win the race, I must lose the weight.

I’m laying aside the cumbersome and entangling.  The heavy.  The worry.  The fretting.  The fears.  The sin.  That which so easily ensnares me.

4528963837_1fa9d59d19

There is a race set before me.

 

multitudesonmondaysbutton2-1

{Today, I’m linking up with other racers.  Some walk.  Others jog.  Many sprint.  Each with a purpose.  A desire to live life fully and with purpose.  Finding God in the every day and giving thanks to Him.}

And my multitudes this Monday…

A teenager who wants to exercise with his mom

A husband who rises early with prayer to shepherd his family

Soft and cozy slippers on a cold morning

Friends showing up to pray at just the right times

A pastor who loves and cares and guides

Dinner alone with the man who captured my heart twenty four years ago

God speaking to racers (and joggers and walkers) during early morning hours and grueling workouts

Have time to read other stories of seeking God through thanksgiving?

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Faith, Thanks Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to What winners need to lose

  1. Dicky says:

    Very well said! Thank you for sharing.

  2. Erin says:

    Thanks for linking up, so that I could read your wonderful post. Loved it! I look forward to poking around on your blog a bit more (once kiddos are all tucked into bed? maybe?) 🙂
    Erin

  3. dschondog says:

    This made me want to sing

    I’m trading my sorrows
    I’m trading my shame
    I’m laying them down for the joy of the Lord
    I’m trading my sicknes
    I’m trading my pain
    I’m laying them down for the joy of the Lord

    The pictures in the video are very CrossFit, both physically and spiritually! God bless you Cristal as you and the future Navy seal wear yourselves out. My second son and I used to run and hike together. He is training for a half marathon now. I blog.

    You will reap great rewards, both of you,
    Loved being here,
    Dawn

    • Cristal says:

      Thank you for sharing the video, Dawn! I had forgotten about that song and needed to be reminded (for many reasons). How timely. Your comments always bring such a smile to my face and encouragement to my heart. I appreciate you sharing your life with me here and on your blog. It’s quite inspirational.

      Love your visits,
      Cristal

  4. To win the race, I must lose the weight. love this Cristal!
    I used to train and play with Canada’s National Volleyball team in my youth and I understand this concept from there. We would practice volleying with these outrageously large and heavy balls, and jump weighted… to lay down the burden gave such an amazing lightness and power to the game! So in life as we lay down all those things that so easily beset us…
    you amaze me at your deterrmination to raise up a holy generation… God go with thee all the way… hats off to you girl!! God be praised! He is our strength and our shield 🙂

    • Cristal says:

      What a great example, Susan. Power to the game! Laying aside the burdens and having that power. Thank you for your encouragement (here and on your blog!).

      Blessings
      Cristal

  5. What a lovely post, Cristal! Isn’t it lovely how God speaks to us in even the everyday aspects of life. There is always a lesson to be learned when we least expect it.
    I know I don’t post in WordPress often (so busy with my Photography blog on Blogger) but when I come back, I love catching up with your posts. I posted for “Multitudes on Monday” (today, Tuesday) and linked with Ann. I have missed doing that and plan to do so each week at least.
    I am finding my Gratitude so therapeutic, life changing and sometimes very challenging in tough times. But that’s the point I guess. It’s easy to be grateful when life is easy.
    I hope you are well?

    • Cristal says:

      Hello, Liz. I am glad you’re linking back up with gratitude. I just visited your blog. And I’m encouraging you to press on with finding thanksgiving in the daily.

      I am praying for you and your precious daughter.

      Much love,
      Cristal

  6. Celebrating Eve says:

    Cristal,
    This is great! I love this. I am walking with you as we all lay aside the weight and press on into life abundant with God.
    God bless you
    K

  7. I have to say I am impressed that you are working out that hard, that early in the morning. And the analogy you make her is poignant. Throwing aside all those things that weigh us down so we can be free. That is real living.

    • Cristal says:

      I am not sure I’d be doing this if it weren’t for my son. And this has been a meaningful way for us to bond. Today, he and I were the only two at the gym for the early class. So, we competed against one another. And I almost won! 🙂

  8. Pingback: I abandoned my schedule {to follow my heart} | Refusing to Tiptoe

  9. Danelle says:

    I love the idea of “losing the weight” to “win the race”. I know I have a lot of “weight” to lose. . not body fat, but heart/soul/spirit “fat” that weighs me down.
    Beautiful analogy! Blessed by your words here today Cristal.

  10. Pingback: I abandoned my schedule {to follow my heart} | Refusing to Tiptoe

Your comments are treasured

