Finding joy in finding joy

I’m curious this morning.

My children accepted January’s joy dare.  Naming three gifts from God a day.  Writing them in a notebook. 

Intentional thanks living.

I wonder what they’ve captured.

IMG_2908

I notice Caleb’s joy journal on the table. 

IMG_3177

Thirty one days of January completed.

And I am overwhelmed at the depth of his joys.

A twelve-year-old giving thanks.

IMG_3183

Caleb lost his grandfather suddenly and tragically twenty months ago. 

And he writes of joy.

The time I got to spend with Grandpa.

Pictures of him for me to remember him by.

And to draw.

IMG_3204

I find this picture framed in Caleb’s bedroom.

He sketched his grandfather from a photo.

And on each side of Grandpa a treasure. 

A special duck because Grandpa knew how much his lil’ man loved ducks. 

And grandpas give simple yet deeply meaningful gifts.

IMG_3215

And another remembrance of valuable time spent with Grandpa. 

When Zorro costs too much on eBay for a grandson to afford, a grandpa makes time to create, with great detail, a Zorro for that boy. 

Because grandpas give from the heart.

IMG_3226

And even though he’s gone, Grandpa is still giving.

IMG_3219

Today I have been given joy by treasuring Caleb’s joys.

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Family, Thanks Living and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Finding joy in finding joy

  1. Really special post, Cristal. Thank you for sharing.

    Carrie 🙂

  2. Andrea Dawn says:

    So precious to hear the thank you’s of a child. How wise the mother who makes room for this for her children. Beautiful post, Cristal.

  3. Celebrating Eve says:

    My heart lept! My heart leapeth. What beauty.

  4. dschondog says:

    Wow! Your sons took the dare. What a great idea for them. It’s simple, yet causes them to pause and reflect. Just enough.

    Hugs,
    Dawn

    • Cristal says:

      Yes, Dawn, they took the dare. With a little incentive (a.k.a. “bribe”). But, I figured since Ann was offering a camera, I could offer some “encouragement” as well!

  5. abracknell says:

    How special! Thank you, Cristal, for sharing your joy! This warmed my heart!

  6. And even though he’s gone, Grandpa is still giving….I love this and find it so true!

    my kids never met their grandpa yet they know him so well and imitate the things they know are him… how he eats asparagus, a plate full of peas, how they cool off a horse after they have ridden,how they make something out of wood… it was our gratitude that passed this memory gift on to them and I see your children doing the same thing… their children will know their great grandpa too.
    The Lord bless you as you spend this time training up your kids in the way they should go 🙂

    • Cristal says:

      Susan — I love the way you shared “grandpa” with your children by passing on the memories in such tangible ways. Thank you for the reminder that even my grandchildren can know Grandpa.

      Love
      Cristal

  7. Pingback: Dia de Gracias (Guatemalan Thanksgiving) | Refusing to Tiptoe

Your comments are treasured

