B-eing Paleofabulous: Cocoa Amore {I’m in love}

Please allow me to introduce you to a sweet (as in Cocoa Amore, sweet!) friend, Brittany.

She published a blog this week, B-eing Paleofabulous, and I’m thrilled!

Brittany will inspire you to eat healthy.

And if you know anything about me, you are aware I believe Refusing to Tiptoe and living life with purpose go together with living healthy.

I have eaten “healthy” for  some time.  However, last year, I realized I had to tweak my manner of eating even more to accommodate some health-related issues.  I finally realized, after much prayer and depending on God to direct my steps, I needed to cut all grains, processed sugars, legumes and dairy from my diet.

Yikes.

I shared my revelation with Brittany.  That’s when she cheerfully shed light on my situation.

“Oh, you’re eating Paleo!”

I didn’t know who or what Paleo was.  But, I was hoping Paleo had a cookbook.

I was hungry.

Brittany hooked me up.

And now she has created a blog to hook you up, too!

Her first recipe is simply amazing.  I ran out to the store (all of this is found at most any supermarket if you’re not super picky or, like me, eat healthy on a budget) and bought what I needed to make Cocoa Amore.

I did tweak it just a little and will explain in the recipe.

B-eing Paleofabulous Cocoa Amore

{This is Brittany’s picture.  I don’t have mugs even resembling cute like hers.}

Cocoa Amore

1 can coconut milk
2 bars dark chocolate (Brittany used Lindt 70% and 85%) {I used 1/2 of a 100% Cacao bar, which was 2 oz.}
1/8 tsp. cinnamon
2-3 Tbs. raw honey {I used 4T. honey and 2 pinches of powdered Stevia since my chocolate bar had no sugar}
1 Tbsp. finely-ground Hawaiian coffee {I made some with no coffee at all and some with just a bit of decaf espresso; both were amazingly scrumptious}

I mixed everything in my Vita-Mix (putting coconut milk in first to warm it enough to melt the chocolate) then poured into mugs and refrigerated/froze until the mixture was set.  Brittany warmed her coconut milk in a saucepan and then mixed all ingredients in a stand-mixer/food processor.  You could hand mix, as well.  I put my mugs in the refrigerator for about 3 hours and then the freezer for 1 hour.  Brittany was able to get the mousse-like texture putting hers in the refrigerator for 3-4 hours.  {I’m assuming my more-honey, less-chocolate-bar adaptation affected its ability to “gel” by only placing in refrigerator}

But, who cares!  Either way, this dessert is truly fabulous.  My teenager complimented me last night, with a spoonful of Cocoa Amore, saying this is the best dessert I’ve ever made.

Thanks for making me look good, Brittany!

{Even if you’re uninterested in eating healthy, make time to read Brittany’s heart-tugging testimony of her victory over a toxic relationship with food.  B-eing Paleofabulous}

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your comments are treasured

