Even lizards can’t move me today {my sight is set high}

I knew it was coming.

Because it’s Friday.

Caleb strode boldly from his room into the kitchen with a command under the guise of a suggestion.

I think Camden should have to sweep the front porch today since I just made his bed.

kite by yonsterz via flickr

Friday’s dreaded chore.  Sweeping the front porch means a possible encounter with lizards.  And Caleb fears lizards.  This child has never been attacked or even bullied by a small, harmless, green creature.  Yet, the thought of such brings distress.

We battle this scaly quandary each week.  A butting of heads between son and mother.  {And, by the way, he has other chore options.  But that would make our Fridays amiable.}

On the other side of the fence, I stand having greatly anticipated this Friday.  My Valentine surprised me with a massage gift certificate.  And today’s the day I have eagerly awaited since last Tuesday.  The thought of relaxing in the candle lit, gently aromatic room of my masseuse makes me giddy.  I can almost feel the sound of rippling waters softly caressing my ears and the hands of Rachel carefully removing the knots and tension from my worn body.

I was once told we should imagine something on earth we savor and then amplify that enjoyment when considering the delight of heaven.  I don’t know if that’s going to pan out, but my mind immediately enveloped the cozy wonderment of a massage.

Today, my son’s reptile anxiety and invitation to chaos will not move me.

kite in sky by Pete Prodoehl via Flickr

I take my massage preparations seriously.  In case you didn’t know, the moments leading up to the massage are crucial.  {Okay.  Maybe not crucial but you get my point.  I’m intentional in laying the groundwork.}

Running late or rushing to the appointment produces a less than desirable experience.  So, I have secured a sitter for Caleb and will drop him off with plenty of time for me to peacefully arrive early to my delectable destination.  This will ensure I can relax in the welcoming waiting room (where soft music, hot tea and coffee are served).  I also made certain to dry brush my skin this morning in order to facilitate the release of toxins during the massage.  Furthermore, I’m drinking plenty of water to provide the internal lubrication needed to keep my muscles tender.  {And you thought I was joking?}  Oh, I shaved my legs, too.  That was more out of respect for Rachel, though.  I also ate lightly.  I don’t want to be gassy.  Again, thinking of Rachel.

My mind is, obviously, on that massage awaiting me.  And my actions today are carefully planned leading up to this moment of pleasure.

There’s another event I’m eagerly anticipating.

It has me looking eyes to the sky.

flying a kite by sageofnewborough via flickr

go fly a kite by freeformkatia via flickr

A day I’m promised and anticipate will bring greater delight than the best massage ever.

The day I see Jesus.

Might I be even more ready.  Making definite and careful preparations.

With heaven on my mind and thoughts meditating on His truths, I shall not be moved.

Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things. (Philippians 4:8)

We have a choice every day.

…casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ (2 Corinthians 10:5)

Living our days with eyes on the prize produces an eager anticipation outweighing any turbulence this flight of life might provoke.  {Even lizards looming large on a front porch}

Focusing on the finish line with thoughts of the Kingdom on our minds and words of faith on our lips brings enjoyment to even the most thunderous forecasts.

Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord, my strength and my Redeemer. (Psalm 19:14)

flying a kite by Momentary Glimpses via flickr

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Even lizards can’t move me today {my sight is set high}

  1. Ahhhhhhhhh… I am so relaxed after looking at your pictures! Thank you for sharing! We have dreary, snowy weather here today… your pictures were a fantastic lift to my spirit!

    Carrie 🙂

  2. Rich Kenney says:

    Love the uplifting pics. Nice post.

  3. dschondog says:

    I love the preparation of our minds for heaven through the careful walk-through of your preparation for a massage. Clever, Cristal!

    Personally, I feel about a massage like Caleb feels about lizards, but I appreciated the delight YOU have in massage and your association of it to heaven. I would substitute a walk in the woods for massage. Isn’t that just like God to make us so different?!

    Hugs, Dear Friend,
    Dawn

    • Cristal says:

      Our Creator is just like that, Dawn. It is fascinating to find the differences in each of His children. And yet we share one common desire. Truly amazing.

      Hugs to you as well,
      Cristal

Your comments are treasured

