Sharing Sunday: If you find me living in a lean-to

IMG_3472IMG_3477

Our pastor preached today from the seventh chapter in the book of John. 

Here we find Jesus crying out to the people.  Anyone who will listen.

“You know Me and you know where I am from. Yet I have not come on My own, but the One who sent Me is true. You don’t know Him; I know Him because I am from Him, and He sent Me.”  (John 7:28b-29)

“If anyone is thirsty, he should come to Me and drink!  The one who believes in Me, as the Scripture has said, will have streams of living water flow from deep within him.”  (John 7:37b-39)

IMG_3483

A promise for those thirty from the only One able to satisfy.  A filling of the Spirit.

I’d read this passage many times.  But, I’d always glanced over the setting. 

The Feast of Tabernacles.

IMG_3476

A harvest celebration of sorts.  Joyous remembrance of God’s continued provision. 

Temporary tabernacles, or booths, were erected for a week-long shelter.  A reminder of life in the wilderness upon release from bondage in Egypt.  And a reminder of the Promised Land of heaven to come. 

IMG_3475

What caught my attention were the temporary tabernacles.  I have long wondered if I’ve made this world too cozy.  If I’ve accommodated my comfortable lifestyle so carefully I’ve lost sight of the Promised Land. 

For we know that if our temporary, earthly dwelling is destroyed, we have a building from God, an eternal dwelling in the heavens, not made with hands.  (2 Corinthians 5:1)

I have forsaken Kingdom pursuits for worldly living.

Dear friends, I urge you as strangers and temporary residents to abstain from fleshly desires that war against you.  (1 Peter 2:11)

So, if you drive past my house and notice a timbered shanty in the front yard, worry not.

It will be me. 

Attempting to alter the posture of my heart. 

IMG_3481

{Many thanks to Caleb who, each week, illustrates BK’s sermons so we can Share our Sunday with you}

You may enjoy reading:

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sharing Sunday: If you find me living in a lean-to

  1. Dicky says:

    Nice and unique.

  2. Leon Maiolo says:

    Hello Sister,thanks for your article. It is easy to forget that this is not our permanent home.

    • Cristal says:

      I too quickly forget. My momentary enlightenment is oh so brief. I am thankful for the blessings. Nevertheless, I find myself desensitized by comforts and conveniences. And this is disheartening.

      Thank you for stopping by today,
      Cristal

  3. snowgood says:

    Having friends who are passionate about Israel is a blessing, and the fact they can speak Hebrew helps to. Good post.

    • Cristal says:

      My 12yo and I are reading the bible at breakfast each morning (using a read-thru-the-bible plan starting in Genesis). As we read through the OT, I am becoming more fascinated with the ways God’s people were taught to remember God’s sovereignty and provision. And how to pass it on to their children. I have mistakenly neglected to teach my own boys the importance of learning about Israel. Never too late, though!

  4. kthroyal says:

    I love “Sharing Sunday”. Hearing how God spoke to you and seeing Caleb’s pictorial rendition of the message.

  5. Cristal says:

    We began having Caleb draw during your sermons to keep his mind from wandering (you know what I mean). I enjoy seeing, each week, what he imagines the message “looks” like. And I’m always ministered to by his sketches (and the message, of course!). You keep preaching, and we’ll keep sharing. 🙂

  6. Desiray says:

    I just love how God’s word is spreading and to see as many people write about these verses…Glad you had a great service but more then anything is you received that word…oh and thanks for leaving a comment to my blog….

  7. This passage was a recent reading of mine for my Daily Devo….tremendous promise found here!

    Love that Caleb illustrates the sermon each week!

  8. pbus1 says:

    Hi Cristal,

    Beautiful post! I love the illustrations by your son! May God bless you and yours!

    Paulette

Your comments are treasured

