Sharing Sunday: Gone a whoring

1

Our pastor shared the Word from the eighth chapter of John yesterday.

{As always, this Sharing Sunday, is not necessarily representative of my pastor’s sermon.  But is simply the way God spoke to me. And Caleb.}

People were gathering around Jesus.  He began teaching them. 

Then the scribes and the Pharisees brought a woman caught in adultery. They reminded Jesus of the Law.  She should be stoned.  They were attempting to trap Jesus, in order that they might have evidence to accuse Him.

Jesus stooped down and started writing on the ground with His finger. 

IMG_3488

They persisted in questioning Him.  Jesus responded.

The one without sin among you should be the first to throw a stone at her.

Then He stooped down again and continued writing on the ground.

When they heard this, they left one by one.

Starting with the older men.

IMG_3493

Dropping the stones.  Releasing the accusation.  Stone throwers with a change of heart, perhaps.

IMG_3494IMG_3496

Accusers vanishing. 

Yet, caught in adultery.

She was, indeed, guilty.

IMG_3486

And so are we. 

Carefully selecting the perfect rocks to throw at those we consider sinful.  Might we remember we, too, are worthy of punishment. 

Deserving of stones. 

Not as bad as the adulteress, though.

No?

I am broken with their whorish heart, which hath departed from Me, and with their eyes, which go a whoring after their idols: and they shall lothe themselves for the evils which they have committed in all their abominations. (Ezekiel 6:9b KJV)

IMG_3487

Jesus asked the guilty woman where her accusers had gone.  The ones condemning her. 

“Neither do I condemn you,” said Jesus. “Go, and from now on do not sin anymore.” (John 8:11 HCSB)

Grace.  The welcoming balm of mercy. 

Soothing to those of us caught in the act. 

Jesus spoke to those listening. 

“I am the light of the world. Anyone who follows Me will never walk in the darkness but will have the light of life.”  (John 8:12 HCSB)

For many of us, walking in the light means walking according to the standard we have set up for another person. The deadliest attitude of the Pharisees that we exhibit today is not hypocrisy but that which comes from unconsciously living a lie. (Oswald Chambers)

Be careful.

When you stoop to pick up that stone.

Perhaps you’ve also been a whoring.

2

In case you’re not quite convinced dropping the rocks is for you, check out what Jesus did when given the opportunity to stone His enemy:  No Conditions, Just Do! (Nick Elizondo)

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sharing Sunday: Gone a whoring

  1. Amen! How soon do we forget about the log in our eye when we are taking time to mention the speck in someone else’s eye! And I love the drawn pictures you always have! God Bless.

  2. dschondog says:

    Love that:
    Caleb
    ’12
    I have a Bible that I have used since I was 18 years old. I made marks like this throughout it and it is still my main Bible. I am so thankful I always put the year behind my notes. I have notes from the 1960’s up until now. It is good to see where I’ve been, indeed who I’ve been and what “struck” me at that stage of life. Jesus ’72 festival, Jesus ’77 festival — ah, those young mother years and on and on. Caleb’s signature made me think of all those marks. Thanks, Caleb and Cristal for sharing!

    • Cristal says:

      What a great idea. I am saving all of Caleb’s drawings but don’t often save my own “inspirations” with dates for future reference and encouragement.

  3. April L Lyon says:

    Powerful- Thank you for sharing! Bless you!

  4. Caleb and Cristal… your doing this together is very powerful!
    this is one of my favourite Bible passages… I often wonder what Jesus wrote or drew in the dirt…
    He is my hero… he always saves us from shame

  5. This title definitely got my attention!

    What a great post. Phenomenal reminder (and I need those little kicks in the booty often!)!

    Thanks for sharing!

Your comments are treasured

