Breaking up is hard to do (calling it splitsville with ME)

When my boys were much younger, we’d take trips to the store during the middle of the day since we homeschooled.  We were often asked if someone was sick or if there was a school holiday.  Obviously,  schooling from home isn’t yet in fashion in this part of Texas.

I’d remind my boys we were representing homeschoolers.  Our purpose was to give home education a brilliant image.

I often think about the expectations I had for my boys and wonder if the bar is raised high enough determining my representation of Christ.

My responsibility as a Cross bearer.

A supporter, defender, proponent of the Cross of Christ.

A disciple.

Guatemala Cross (2)

In an attempt to judge my stride on this Christian walk, I look into the character of an enemy of the Cross.  Paul was careful to unveil such people.

For many walk, of whom I have told you often, and now tell you even weeping, that they are the enemies of the cross of Christ: whose end is destruction, whose god is their belly, and whose glory is in their shame—who set their mind on earthly things. (Philippians 3:18-19 NKJV)

Enemies of the Cross.

Whose god is their belly.

Whose glory is in their shame.

Who set their minds on earthly things.

Guatemala volcano

I think to myself do I appear to be an enemy or an advocate?

An adversary or an ally?

Whose god is their belly.

Gratifying sensual appetites.  Gluttony and drunkenness come quickly to mind as I judge the character of the enemies and move my pen toward marking an A+ on my Christian report card.  Yet, I must pause before giving myself any stellar marks of performance. 

There woven into the garment of carnality are also the threads of secular interests, pride, ambition, covetousness, luxury and lust. 

And this belly often rumbles with a selfish appetite and hunger for the meringue on the temporal pie of life.

Whose glory is in their shame.

Boasting in sin without Godly sorrow for bringing disgrace to His name.  Glorying in that of which I ought to be ashamed.

Laughing off, overlooking and justifying the transgressions.

Without distinction from the world, I represent a blurred deprecation.

Who set their minds on earthly things.

An affection of the heart.  Relishing the worldly.  Doting on the secular.

Covering the dull, earthly confidence in materialism with sparkling sprinkles of religion.

My mind giving attention to the flesh.

My heart saluting allegiance to the world.

Guatemala Cross

Enemies of the Cross whose end is destruction.

God offers stern warning through the apostle Paul.

Now I urge you, brethren, note those who cause divisions and offenses, contrary to the doctrine which you learned, and avoid them.  For those who are such do not serve our Lord Jesus Christ, but their own belly, and by smooth words and flattering speech deceive the hearts of the simple.  (Romans 16:17-18 NKJV)

Those who do not serve our Lord Jesus Christ but their own belly.

Make note of them.  Keep watch.  Avoid these enemies.

Will a fellow disciple of Christ, one who follows Him and carries His cross, observe my walk and find me as one to avoid or one to embrace?

What about you?

We aren’t simply homeschoolers on mission to give a group a good name during the middle of a school day.

It’s much more.

To follow Christ, I must throw in the towel on selfishness.  Divorcing myself to enter into union with Him.

Taking the Name of Christ upon myself.

Representative of the Cross.

Guatemala

(Much of the thoughts provided were gleaned from a study in Matthew Henry’s commentary on Philippians.  And the cross used in these photos is from Guatemala.  A place where I have found many disciples to be representing the Cross of Christ with stellar performance.)

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Breaking up is hard to do (calling it splitsville with ME)

  1. April L Lyon says:

    Thank you for sharing such a timely word!

  2. Perfect timing and wonderful scriptures… as I battle on today… using food to “solve” other issues. Why of why do I do that?

    • Cristal says:

      Oh, Brooke, I understand. Why do we turn to false fillers which we know will leave us empty? I’m praying we hunger and thirst for the only One who can offer the satisfaction we’re truly craving.

  3. Naphtali says:

    I was tagged and now I am tagging you! Please check out the link below:

    http://craigmotor.wordpress.com/2012/03/23/ive-been-tagged/

  4. Needed this! Great post!

  5. Janelle says:

    Wonderful thoughts. Truly, I want to be filled by Him!

Your comments are treasured

