Sharing Sunday: Freedom Finders

John 8

From the book of John, our pastor shared yesterday. 

Jesus reveals truth.

I am the light of the world. Anyone who follows Me will never walk in the darkness but will have the light of life.  (John 8:12)

The Pharisees continue to question Jesus.

Jesus warns them.

You are from below. I am from above.You are of this world;I am not of this world.Therefore I told you that you will die in your sins. For if you do not believe that I am He, you will die in your sins. (John 8:23-24)

Then, the pouring out of freedom and truth.

As He was saying these things, many believed in Him. So Jesus said to the Jews who had believed Him, “If you continue in My word, you really are My disciples. You will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”  (John 8:30-32)

free man

At home, I gaze at Caleb’s sketch.  And he shares insight.

That’s not Jesus, Mommy.

That’s a man walking in the Light.

He’s been set free.

walking

The picture becomes clear.

The man is striding in freedom as he walks in the light.

As he walks.

One foot in front of the other.

The man, who was once in chains, has been set free.

The shackles are left behind.

See, Mommy.

Look at his chains on the ground. 

In the dark.

broken chains

I have often prayed for and expected supernatural deliverance.  And I do believe this is possible.

I wonder, though, how often I sit waiting for a freedom beckoning me to walk.

Moving forward.  In the light. 

And that which has me bound, in the dark, falls to the ground.

broken chains 2

And the key to unlock those chains?

If you continue in My word, you really are My disciples. (John 8:31)

You will know the truth, and the truth will set you free. (John 8:32)

As our pastor explained, we are often too familiar with a counterfeit gospel.  A false testimony carefully disguised as the truth. 

Advice from a magazine.  Counsel from a television host.  Suggestions from a friend.  And often comments from a seemingly reliable book.

Yet, we believe.  And we follow.  Because we are not acquainted with the perfect and authentic words of the Bible.

caleb

Being intimately aware of the Word of God, frauds are quickly exposed.

Seekers of Truth walking in the Light.

Continuing in the Word.

These are the freedom finders.

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sharing Sunday: Freedom Finders

  1. Vince Chough says:

    This was a fantastic post Cristal. I love the drawings and the words you weave together with them.
    Many blessings to you,
    Vince

  2. Desiray says:

    I have to agree the artwork is so cute….I have noticed your artwork in several of your posting….God bless you

    • Cristal says:

      Thank you, Desiray. Caleb sketches ALL THE TIME at home and was having difficulty staying focused at church. So, I bought him a sketch pad just for church and told him to draw whatever our pastor preached. It made a huge difference!

  3. This is great, Cristal! wow…out of the mouths of babes! We seem to think things should be complicated when they are not.
    I’m working on memorizing (again) I John, and have been noticing the theme of John’s writing over and over again about Jesus/God being the Light, and our need to walk in the light, as He is in the light, and to abide in Him and walk, even as He walked (1:5-7; 2:6).
    And this past week, I John 2:9-11 about light and darkness and loving or hating our brother.
    Really important deep theology, even a child can understand. Thanks for bringing it home again. Joyce

    • Cristal says:

      I am finding, Joyce, that Caleb’s sketches amplify the Truth spoken each week and, as you said, show that even a child can understand. I make Scriptures so complicated some times. Maybe I should invest in a Children’s bible! 😉

  4. Judy says:

    You (and your artist:) express a profound truth beautifully in this post. Thank you for the inspiring reminder to move forward in the light.

  5. I wonder, though, how often I sit waiting for a freedom beckoning me to walk.
    Moving forward. In the light.
    And that which has me bound, in the dark, falls to the ground.

    your words and God’s with your son’s art… again so powerful!

  6. Great sketches by your little man, he has some budding talent. And great truth in your words. The more we immerse in the words of Jesus, the more obvious his voice and the fraudulent. So thankful for truth that sets us free.

    • Cristal says:

      I agree. Many people say those taught to detect counterfeit money are immersed with the real deal and not even shown the fake money. They are so familiar with the authentic bills, they can catch a fraud immediately. Not sure it that’s true; but I’d like to be so in tune with the Word of God that anything contrary would be quickly detected as a lie.

  7. When my man Caleb starts teaching a Sunday School class I want to be in it. Amen sister.

  8. Cristal- As a freelance artist, I love Caleb’s drawings! Not only is it visually beautiful, but It contains a meaningful story behind his artwork. “In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven” (Matthew 5:16).

    • Cristal says:

      Wow, Danielle, what a compliment. I can’t wait to share it with Caleb! And, after taking a peek at your blog, I can’t wait to spend some time digging around and finding the treasures you have waiting there. 😉

Your comments are treasured

