Sharing Sunday: Taking care of business. Before it’s too late.

The sermon this Sunday was based on the ninth chapter of John.  The story of the blind man healed as Jesus placed mud on his eyes and then instructed him to wash in the pool.

IMG_3605

With faith and obedience, the blind man dipped in the water. 

And came back with sight.

After He said these things, He spit on the ground, made some mud from the saliva, and spread the mud on his eyes.  “Go,” He told him, “wash in the pool of Siloam.” So he left, washed, and came back seeing. (John 9:6-7)

Of course, some men in authority were angered.

They brought the man who used to be blind to the Pharisees. The day that Jesus made the mud and opened his eyes was a Sabbath. So again the Pharisees asked him how he received his sight.

“He put mud on my eyes,” he told them. “I washed and I can see.”

Therefore some of the Pharisees said, “This man is not from God, for He doesn’t keep the Sabbath!” But others were saying, “How can a sinful man perform such signs?” And there was a division among them.  (John 9:13-16)

IMG_3615

And I enjoy this part where the newly sighted man gets their goat.

So a second time they summoned the man who had been blind and told him, “Give glory to God. We know that this man is a sinner!”

He answered, “Whether or not He’s a sinner, I don’t know. One thing I do know: I was blind, and now I can see!

Then they asked him, “What did He do to you? How did He open your eyes?”

“I already told you,” he said, “and you didn’t listen. Why do you want to hear it again? You don’t want to become His disciples too, do you?”  (John 9:24-27)

Before this, though, there was a questioning. 

Possibly an invitation to a theological debate.

His disciples questioned Him: “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?” (John 9:2)

Jesus cleared the confusion.

“Neither this man nor his parents sinned,” Jesus answered. “This came about so that God’s works might be displayed in him.” (John 9:3)

And then He spoke words we’d all do well to imprint on our hearts.

“We must do the works of Him who sent Me while it is day. Night is coming when no one can work.” (John 9:4)

Do the works of Him who sent me. 

A time is coming when no one can work.

Almost two years ago, I experienced an illness which doctors were unable to cure. (During my season of stripping) Therefore, I set out to find answers. Minutes turning into hours and hours turning into weeks, I was consumed with reading books, searching the internet and speaking with others. 

Gradually, I noticed my physical health was not the only compartment of my life on the decline.  My spiritual health was equally suffering.

While surfing the web one day, hoping for healing, I sensed the voice of God.

You take care of My business.  I’ll take care of yours. 

I had gone months without tending to Kingdom business.  Sure, I’d spent time in the Word and in prayer.  But, only in attempts to serve myself. 

Yet, I’d lost my joy.  My spiritual mojo was depleted. 

At that moment, with faith and obedience, I was determined to get back in the race.  Even if I didn’t feel like it.  A touch of saliva-saturated dirt and a dipping in the pool for the blind gal. 

IMG_3606

I’m not proposing I named and claimed a healing.  And I’m not suggesting mind over matter. Nor am I prescribing a remedy for another’s illness.

I am professing that I took baby steps toward ministering to others (including my husband and children) and focusing on God’s business out of obedience to what God had spoken to me. 

Before long I was striding in sync with the Spirit again.  My vision was restored. 

Fully living with purpose.

And within months, I was following God into Mexico and then Guatemala

By sitting in front of the computer or with my nose in a medical book, I was losing time.  I was also being disobedient.  God had not told me to search for a cure.

I was wasting valuable moments of life.

Even today, I keep a reminder on my computer.

She looks well to the ways of her household and eats not the bread of idleness. (Proverbs 31:27)

Because I don’t want to waste time with a keyboard and screen. 

And I keep a reminder in my kitchen.  Simple words written on paper to keep me on track.  Bringing to memory my husband’s need for that new wife.

God, husband, children, home, ministry, other activities

In that order.  A recognition of priorities. 

Prompts to urge me in the right direction.

My pastor shared a story about a heroic man who understood the urgency of Kingdom business as the Titanic was sinking.  I encourage you to read John Harper’s story

I also challenge you to ask God if you’re wasting time on anything He never desired you touch with your attention, time or talents. 

IMG_3613

For, a time is coming when no one can work. 

Now we must do the works of Him who sent us.

{As always, thank you to Caleb for sketching our Sharing Sundays!} 

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sharing Sunday: Taking care of business. Before it’s too late.

  1. Tresta says:

    Thank you, Cristal. These have been my thoughts lately, as our life gets out of sync and I am steering in the wrong direction. The verse you shared from Proverbs will be on my computer, too, and I will not let this screen steal real life from my kids! Truly, thank you.

    • Cristal says:

      I love what you said here, Tresta: “I will not let this screen steal real life from kids.” That’s a great way of making this relevant! Any thing I’m attending to that has no value is simply robbing me and my family of precious time. Thanks for sharing that!

  2. Janelle says:

    Thank you for this reminder to “look well to the ways”. It is easy to just have it all swirl around me sometimes. I love that Caleb and you do this little Sunday thing together. Precious!

    • Cristal says:

      Thank you, Janelle. I also enjoy mine and Caleb’s venture. And I agree with you, I need reminders to focus on the important things while the rest swirls around me!

  3. Pingback: “To Like or Dislike” (Brussel Sprouts) « Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

  4. Excellent words! Yes, I have been wasting time. And I’ve known awhile I’m wasting time. And this is the third blog post I’ve read today reminding me to get back with the program 🙂 I like your visual reminder front and center in the kitchen.

    • Cristal says:

      Third blog post about wasting time, Brooke? You might be onto something! 😉 I was encouraged to encourage by your most recent blog post — thank you!!

  5. Chrystal says:

    Thanks for your very powerful words!

  6. I really like that last line about asking God if we’re focusing our attention on something we shouldn’t be, that he hasn’t asked us to. Thanks for sharing your personal stories with us. It’s very encouraging.

    • Cristal says:

      Thank you, Samantha, for your encouragement. I have to frequently ask myself if I’m dipping into something unpurposed by God (for there is where I find tension, confusion and strife). I also thank you for sharing your personal stories on your blog!

  7. Judy says:

    “You take care of My business. I’ll take care of yours.” What an excellent thought. Thanks.

  8. Tami says:

    This is so great. Thank you so much for sharing your heart. Truly something I can definitely relate to right now in my life. I really needed this.

Your comments are treasured

