Chimpanzee movie offered more than an endearing story

First, let me say I’m not an earth worshiper or tree hugger.

They exchanged the truth of God for a lie, and worshiped and served created things rather than the Creator–who is forever praised. Amen. (Romans 1:25)

But, I am one who seeks to be a good steward of what God has given.  (This actually has nothing to do with today’s post; but I wanted to get that out there since I did go see an Earth Day movie.)

Caleb and I took a field trip to the movie theatre.  All in the name of making sure homeschoolers get out and about.  You know.  *wink*  Socialize.

We viewed the new movie, Chimpanzee.

I was pleasantly pleased to find no references to evolution.  Unless they slipped it in while I was sleeping.  I am kidding!!

I did bring in a blanket, expecting to nap.  But, surprisingly, the movie kept my attention.

And, rather than sneaking in an evolution agenda, I found a hint of Christianity. 

{This will not be a movie spoiler if you’ve seen or read the previews.}

Oscar (isn’t he so cute!) is left as an orphan when his mom dies.  Soon to expire himself, he needs to be rescued.  Then, the narrator explains the most unlikely savior comes to his aid to care for him (the film actually uses the word savior).

oscar-in-chimpanzee

This unlikely savior is the alpha male. The top guy (or chimp, in this case).

The superior one begins caring for the lowest in rank. It is unheard of for the king to care for the lowliest in their system.  (Or any system, right?)

Nevertheless, Freddy (alpha male) adopts Oscar.  He gained no personal advantages by fostering Oscar.  In fact, the young, helpless chimp had been considered a nuisance to others.

Yet tenderly, Freddy provides for him.  Feeds him.  Grooms him by picking fleas and ticks from his matted hair.  Holds him while he sleeps.

Welcomes him into his life.

I suppose the other movie goers found it endearing.

Wrapped cozy in my blanket, I found it comforting.  As it reminded me of my Rescuer.

The Alpha and Omega who offers to me, an unworthy Oscar, adoption into His family.

All those led by God’s Spirit are God’s sons. For you did not receive a spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you received the Spirit of adoption, by whom we cry out, “Abba, Father!”  The Spirit Himself testifies together with our spirit that we are God’s children. (Romans 8:14-16)

The Superior One caring for the inferior.

Make your own attitude that of Christ Jesus, who, existing in the form of God, did not consider equality with God as something to be used for His own advantage. Instead He emptied Himself by assuming the form of a slave, taking on the likeness of men. And when He had come as a man in His external form, He humbled Himself by becoming obedient to the point of death— even to death on a cross. (Philippians 2:5-8)

The King offering to me His righteousness.

So, that I might enter into His kingdom.

Welcoming me into His life.

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Chimpanzee movie offered more than an endearing story

  1. terry1954 says:

    i was wondering if that move was going to be any good. now i know. thanks

    • Cristal says:

      Thank you for stopping by, Terry. And….HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!!! You make amazing sacrifices and are leaving a wonderful legacy. Celebrate BIG!!

  2. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on the movie! My boys, who typically only ask to be audience for all things animated, have expressed an interest in seeing Chimpanzee. It will likely be in our weekend plans within the next few weeks. 🙂
    Blessings to you!
    Shannon

    • Cristal says:

      I hope you all enjoy it, Shannon. My youngest (Caleb) couldn’t wait to see it. But, he also wants to own a zoo one day. And he asked on our way home if I thought it was too “far fetched” to plan to open a zoo when he’s older. But, he also has a Plan B. A high school coach. Like his daddy. 😉

  3. Awww, I’ll tell my dh about this. Our datenights usually involve a kids’ movie since I can’t stand violence and he doesn’t want to spend half the time with his eye averted!! He’s be interested in a father figure story like this one for sure.

    Followed Chief of the Least’s recommendation over here. 😀

    • Cristal says:

      You sound just like me! This movie may, hopefully, interest you both. I truly thought I was in for a boring nature documentary. I can’t say it’s as action packed and entertaining as your favorite kids’ movie. But, it is the best nature show I’ve ever seen. 😉

      I am glad to meet you and so honored that Bryan mentioned me. I can’t wait to spend some time browsing your blog! It looks right up my alley!!

  4. Judy says:

    The story of our Rescuer is the best one, isn’t it?

  5. dschondog says:

    I wonder how many others will see a pcture of Christ in this movie.

Your comments are treasured

