Sharing Sunday: Broken & Poured Out (a lil’ dab won’t do ya)

One day a plain village woman
Driven by love for her Lord
Recklessly poured out a valuable essence
Disregarding the scorn
And once it was broken and spilled out
A fragrance filled all the room
Like a prisoner released from his shackles
Like a spirit set free from the tomb

Broken and spilled out
Just for love of you, Jesus
My most precious treasure
Lavished on thee
Broken and spilled out
And poured at your feet
In sweet abandon
Let me be spilled out
And used up for thee

(written by Gloria Gaither)

Mary

A woman came with an alabaster jar of pure and expensive fragrant oil of nard.  She broke the jar and poured it on His head. (Mark 14:3b-4)

Then Mary took a pound of fragrant oil—pure and expensive nard—anointed Jesus’ feet, and wiped His feet with her hair.  So the house was filled with the fragrance of the oil.  (John 12:3)

A year’s wages.

Pure and expensive.

Poured out. 

Shattered

The container shattered.

Contents emptied.

Broken

Might there be a breaking of that which tightly contains my love to be lavished on Christ.

No longer misting fragrance on selfish endeavors hoping to create an essence of Christianity.

Unwilling to dab perfume where the full measure of sweet abandon is required. 

Container shattered and contents emptied.

The precious ointment of fragrant devotion.

Regardless of cost.

Bountiful.

Liberal.

At any expense.

Being contained no longer.

Caleb

Those who love Christ truly love him so much better than this world as to be willing to lay out the best they have for him. (Matthew Henry)

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sharing Sunday: Broken & Poured Out (a lil’ dab won’t do ya)

  1. Larry Who says:

    Although I’m quite stuffy myself, I enjoy different ways to present truths. Thanks.

  2. Beautiful – – the Lord is sure doing a number on my heart thru your words:) Thank you.

  3. Dicky says:

    Beautifully written and illustrated.

  4. irishsignora says:

    What a terrific metaphor and prayer. Thank you for reminding me to love thoroughly, and that what I pour out, the Lord will replenish!

    • Cristal says:

      AMEN! Love thoroughly and with full abandon. Fully living with purpose! 😉

      Thank you for the comment. They are always appreciated and welcomed!

  5. Judy says:

    Thank you for reminding me of the beauty of extravagant expressions of love. Mine are too often measured, and you inspire me to love more freely.

    • Cristal says:

      Maybe the “pressure” you wrote about could burst our containers, causing our love to move freely (and with “contagion”!). Can you tell I’ve enjoyed your recent posts?!?

      • Judy says:

        What an excellent thought! It’s my self-protective instinct that tries to hold it all in. I love the picture of bursing containers! However, I’m a little fearful of what would spill out of my sinful heart. But how else to free it? Thanks for making connections from your posts to mine – I love that! I am always touched and challenged by your posts.

  6. Juliet says:

    Oh, what a beautiful post!

  7. I really enjoy reading your blog…..so today I nominated you for the Sunshine Blog Award. I linked your blog to my post for today. Come check it out!

  8. I am truly blessed by this… Broken and poured out… Those pictures really bring the message to life. great job!

Your comments are treasured

