Discovering painted skies in a colorless day

Husband’s out of town.  I’m holding down the fort.

Camden’s running fever.  Tucking him in to bed, my weary mom cheek to his warm forehead, I pray for his comfort and healing.

The setting sun and rolling in of night hasn’t dampened Caleb’s lively spirit.  Lego construction is in full force.  Offering enticement to close his eyes, I agree to him falling asleep with me.

Crawling into bed.  Exhausted.  It’s late.  Too late, really.

Another day ending.

Darkness prevents seeing with the eyes but not hearing with the heart.

Mommy, you should have seen the sunset today.

There were so many beautiful colors.

I almost came inside to get you.

But you were busy.

In the midst of a seemingly colorless strand of chores, a young boy discovered a sky painting.

One viewing only the pale tasks set before her.

The child’s eyes are opened to a celestial kaleidoscope.

One sees gray.

The boy uncovers the firmament adorned.

Coronado Sky

A grateful heart closing the book on another day.

Words of gratitude sprinkling the dark night with stars of grace.

I’m thankful I got to see the sunset, mommy.

And I’m going to write that in my joy journal.

Thank you for making homemade fish sticks tonight.

I’m writing that in my journal, too.

And the ice cream cookies.

His joy journal.

I’d forgotten.  Mine untouched for days.  Weeks.

Caleb, I don’t want to miss another painted sky.

Please, come get me next time.

So I can enjoy it with you.

A young smile felt through a warm snuggle.  Then soft snores.

And probably Lego dreams.

I am thankful.

Regardless of a sink full of dishes, a laundry list of untouched chores, and a teenager with fever.

I embrace the giving of thanks.

Intentional gratitude.

Thanks living.

Coronado Beauty

“I want to see beauty. In the ugly, in the sink, in the suffering, in the daily, in all the days before I die, the moments before I sleep.”
Ann Voskamp


For more inspiration to embrace thanks living and discover painted skies…

Discovering beauty on the other side of the coin

When the small things turn big

Stablish, strengthen and settle

What winners need to lose

multitudesonmondaysbutton2-1

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Thanks Living and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Discovering painted skies in a colorless day

  1. Larry Who says:

    When I read an article such as this, my first thought is, “I wish I could write like that.” But even if I can’t write like you, I’m glad for the chance to read it. Thanks.

    • Cristal says:

      What a compliment, Larry! I’m on cloud nine!! Thank you. We simply have different styles. Just various colors in the Crayola box. But still crayons.

  2. Dicky says:

    You always make good use of photos along with words. Wonderful!

    • Cristal says:

      Thank you, Dicky. I wish I really knew how to take pictures! Many are not mine (which is why clicking on some will take you straight to the photographer). But, I’d love to one day be able to take them all myself!

  3. Kent says:

    There’s ALWAYS time for a sunset break! Take it! A lot of times its God’s way of saying, “I got this. See?”

  4. Liz says:

    Beautiful words Cristal! Your beauty, graciousness & gentleness is evident in every word.
    I love the skies God paints for us to marvel and enjoy each evening.

    Thanks for asking about Bec 🙂
    She is doing OK… not falling down, steadily progressing with tiny baby steps. She has gained almost no weight but has managed to eat 3 decent meals for almost a week (she was only eating breakfast & dinner) and that is a huge leap for her. She is part way through her first semester of nursing Degree and already excelling. She wants a future free of this disease. I’m not falling into a sense of security yet as I know it’s early days with her health. A young girl died in the UK this week weighing as much as Bec, with similar stats, so we are by no means out of the woods BUT she is fighting which is possibly the most positive sign in a long time 🙂

    I hope your little one has improved. Praying for you and blessed to have “met” you. God bless you xxoo

    • Cristal says:

      Thank you, Liz. It means a lot when you stop by and offer your encouraging and poetic thoughts. I am grateful for the update on Bec. I will continue to pray. And thank you for praying for us! Much love to you, my friend.

  5. lorischulz says:

    Hi Cristal! Thanks for the “Like” on my blog post. This is a great story. And I love the photos with it. Thanks! Lori

  6. irishsignora says:

    A joy journal? What a FABULOUS idea! I think we’ll start those tomorrow!

  7. Faithrises says:

    Beautifully written, and thank you for the reminder to not be too busy to drink in the beauty and blessings that are right in front of us. Love the photos too!:)

  8. Juliet says:

    Beautiful! Oh, I love how kids know how to slow down and savor the sweet moments in life. They teach us adults so much, don’t they? Your response to your son resonated with me: “Caleb, I don’t want to miss another painted sky. Please, come get me next time. So I can enjoy it with you.” How many times have I been immersed in my “to do” list and missed the “painted sky?” Thanks for the reminder to slow down and enjoy those moments.And I love the idea of a joy journal. :0)

    • Cristal says:

      Thank you for the thoughtful comment. I am grateful for you stopping by!

      I agree. We can learn so much from kids. They also know how to gently convict. “I was going to come inside to get you but you were busy.” Ouch. It helped me reflect on my response to him when I’m in the middle of chores or tasks. I don’t want to be unapproachable and miss any more painted skies!

  9. Liz Mason says:

    Beautiful post Crystal. I love the idea of having a joy journal. I’m going to start one right away. Thanks so much for sharing this…heart warming post.

    • Cristal says:

      Thank you, Liz. It certainly puts things into perspective (changing our “vision”) when we are intentionally looking for blessings throughout each day. I wish I’d learned this long ago!

Your comments are treasured

