My life as a souped-up town car

We were traveling last week when my boys noticed a town car in disguise.  With extra large tires and added bling, it was definitely catching some attention.

Mom!  Check this out!

A souped-up town car!

I caught a quick glimpse.  Not my style.

And, I couldn’t help but think of how the town car’s makeover didn’t seem suitable for its original design.

My stepfather is a mechanic and taught me long ago to appreciate the goodness of proper auto care.

Baracuda by Garret Voight via Flickr

When every single sixteen year old girl in the whole wide world was carrying the super stylish (and long and heavy) key chains, I wasn’t allowed.  Apparently, the extra weight swinging to and fro can wear out the ignition of an automobile.  {I’m still working through the trauma of being hindered from looking cool when driving.}

I also learned that certain parts, including tires, were made for particular vehicles.

"Hoover for President" plate on antique Ford bumper

As we drove along last week, I thought back to my days of trying to be made-over by my own efforts.  With attempts to disguise the real me, I’d make accommodations to suit the preferences and desires of others. 

And, unfortunately, I’m not referring to copycatting the humble life of the apostle Paul.

Although I (Paul) am a free man and not anyone’s slave, I have made myself a slave to everyone, in order to win more people…To the weak I became weak, in order to win the weak. I have become all things to all people, so that I may by every possible means save some. (1 Corinthians 9:19, 22)

When I met my husband (before he was my husband, of course), I immediately felt the need to fit in with his family, who often times have a different style.  Not bad.  Just inconsistent with mine.  Nevertheless, I gave my best effort to alter my appearance.   You know, to be more vogue.

But, it wasn’t me.

I was as out-of-place as the souped-up town car.  Sporting awkward, and often ludicrous, parts and equipment, I surely caught some attention.

And, I certainly was not functioning properly.

I had a mega cool key chain weighing down my ignition.

My makeover wasn’t suitable for my original design. 

2007 Oldsmobile Homecoming by Joe Ross via flickr

And, thankfully, the Light exposed the deceit.

How cleansing to be disencumbered from the weight of heavy burdens.

Removing the mask.

Discarding the distorted desires.

Free from the phony and fraudulent.

Emancipated from the excessive.

Broken and poured out.

Living with purpose fully for Christ alone.

 

What about you?

Ever tried living like a souped-up town car?

 


Plymouth GTX painted orange

Oh, and the photos of automobiles.  They remind me of my pastor.

He enjoys renovating classics.

Not only cars.  People, too.

Check out his blog: BK’s Blog

(photos via Flickr Creative Commons License)

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My life as a souped-up town car

  1. Love this post! Am sharing it on our He says, She says Facebook page.

    • Cristal says:

      Thank you, Carrie, for always being so supportive and encouraging! Looks like you have some good stuff awaiting me on He Says She Says…can’t wait to get over there!

  2. Larry Who says:

    Good post. I, myself, am a Model A with the old hand crank. Not exceptionally fast, a little rough, but I still make up the hills.

    • Cristal says:

      You seriously make me laugh out loud when I read some of your comments and blog posts, Larry! Your sense of humor is refreshing. Thank you for making me smile. 🙂

  3. Desiray says:

    Cars is not my thing but my husband is truly into old cars, he knows about cars so much that all he has to do is hear the engine of a car and he can tell you the make and model year of a car. And the old ones which you have in the photos my gosh he love them very much he collects cars go to car shows and love reading magazines on cars..often times I tell him how come you did not become an auto mechanic he says no I rather be an Engineer cars is just a hobby.

  4. Dicky says:

    What an insightful message.

  5. Thomas Smith says:

    I would agree, outside of Jesus, I did try to live as a souped up sports car, with after market parts really made for other vehicles. For me, when I came to the knowledge of Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior, He truly did remove the scales from my eyes, and every since then I’ve been coming to see who He truly is,and to see myself for who I truly am in Him.

    • Cristal says:

      After market parts…yes! That was me, too. In fact, to be honest, I still find myself often lured by their shiny temptation. But, once I yield to the Spirit, I am reminded of His presence in me. And that’s the best way to live!

  6. Great post. I know someone who is trying to live like this right now and is miserable as a result. Thanks for posting this, it’s good advice and I agree that it’s so important that we live with purpose for Christ.

  7. mybroom says:

    Hi Cristal,
    I’m thinking we spend a lot of time & effort analyzing what God wants us to fix up in our lives, when in reality as I fix my eyes of Jesus I discover that His sacrifice has already made me perfect. The more I look at myself and my shortcomings, the less I focus on the magnificence of His perfect sacrifice for me. I guess what I am saying is that I find it helps if I try to be righteousness conscious rather than unrighteousness conscious. Just a thought, Graeme

    • Cristal says:

      Hi Graeme, I’m so thankful for you dropping in to offer such a thoughtful comment. And I agree…when my eyes are on Christ, He seems to take care of my life in ways I could have never manufactured or imagined. I can’t wait to check out your blog and am glad you found me! Have a blessed day, Cristal

Your comments are treasured

