Fighting a battle that’s already won (by Cody Hogden)

The Lord said to Moses, “Do not be afraid of him, for I have handed him over to you, with his whole army and his land.“  (Numbers 21:34)

Then the Lord said to Joshua, “See, I have delivered Jericho into your hands, along with its king and its fighting men.”  (Joshua 6:2)

The Lord said to Joshua, “Do not be afraid of them; I have given them into your hand. Not one of them will be able to withstand you.”  (Joshua 10:8)

Fighting a battle that’s already won…

I’m not sure about you, but if you’re in a battle, wouldn’t the words “Do not be afraid, I have…” be comforting to you?

There’s a lot to be said about God fighting your battles!

Think about it, from where did King David get his confidence?  David said to the Philistine, “You come against me with sword and spear and javelin, but I come against you in the name of the Lord Almighty, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied.”

Yep, you guessed it.

His confidence was not in himself.  It was in the LORD Almighty.

What did all these mighty men of God do? Sit back.  Take off their sandals and relax a little.  Polish their shields.  WATCH God fight and destroy the enemy?

No.  No.  No.

They drew their swords (or jars and sticks) entered the battlefield and fought.

But thanks be to God!  He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. (1 Corinthians 15:57)

Are we any different than these mighty men? Facing a battle this very day against an enemy who is “more crafty than any of the wild animals the Lord God had made.”  He’s attacking our homes, our families, our minds, our marriages, our Churches, our friends, our schools.

We’re in a battle…that’s already won!

Have I not commanded you?  Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.  (Joshua 1:9)

He gives us victory over sin.

He gives us victory over death.

He gives us victory over temptation.

He gives us victory over anger.

He gives us victory over lust.

He gives us victory over depression.

He gives us victory in our marriage.

WE ARE VICTORIOUS.

Now draw your sword and fight.



I am thrilled Cody (remember my friend who tallies his Tweets?) has chosen to share an encouraging word with us again.

Cody has a heart for youth and seeing them grow roots deep into the rich soil of Christ.

His messages make adults thirsty for the Word, as well.

You can find Cody on Twitter and Facebook.

And, because I’m all about filling all our days with the Word (not just on Sundays), here’s a link to Cody’s four most recent sermons (yes, Cody preaches to adults, too!): BE Series

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fighting a battle that’s already won (by Cody Hogden)

  1. Larry Who says:

    Hearing God’s voice is always the answer to our problems. For example, Elijah was quite confident when he heard God’s voice, but when he didn’t, he sat under a juniper tree and said, “Go ahead, and take my life, it’s over!”

  2. When I attacked the bear that was mauling my goat it was without fear… no matter that I had only a stick and people would say it was so stupid of me. I am a Shepherd like David and a bear was killing my animals. The bear smelled my wrath and flew from me. I call that the battle already won. My confidence is in the Lord and the dominion He has already given us. I have claimed many beloved for Him and battle for them knowing He has already given us the victory. The name of the baby goat born five days after the bear attack to the same mom…(who by the way four years later is still blessing us with kids each Spring and fresh delicious milk all year) the baby’s name….Victory! Death shall be swallowed up in Victory.

    I so enjoyed this post 🙂

Your comments are treasured

