Why are you trying to keep Christ in Christmas?

There’s been a buzz in social media outlets about how to celebrate Christmas.

Contemplations over trees, stockings and Santa.  I’ve noticed families giving up traditions in the name of honoring Christ.  Children no longer allowed to keep their gifts in order to bless the poor.  Parents declining party invitations in trying to guard their families from the secularism of a worldly celebration.

And, so I wonder.

Have we allowed the enemy to distract us from Christ with borrowed Christmas convictions?

Are we following the promptings of God delivered to us by His Holy Spirit?

Or are we being deceived into believing we’re denying the rudiments of this world while eagerly adopting them?

So, then, if with Christ you’ve put all that pretentious and infantile religion behind you, why do you let yourselves be bullied by it?

“Don’t touch this! Don’t taste that! Don’t go near this!”

Do you think things that are here today and gone tomorrow are worth that kind of attention?

Such things sound impressive if said in a deep enough voice. They even give the illusion of being pious and humble and ascetic.

But they’re just another way of showing off, making yourselves look important. (Colossians 2:20-23 Message Version)

Many of us are too often bullied by well-meaning Christians and have fallen into a trap of comfortably adopting another set of rules.

If we are not being led by Christ in changing our lives, we are simply borrowing the convictions of another man. 

And a deep check of our heart will expose our motives.

Might we become increasingly sensitive to the arousal of our senses and suggestions to our soul.  Then, may we offer those occasions to the One who calls for change.

And follow His design for life.

Truly this could be the sincerest way to “keep Christ in Christmas.”

Image1

(Caleb was in charge, last year, of setting up the nativity. Yes, the cow is on the roof.  And, yes, it seems the angel and wise men are doting over the animals instead of Baby Jesus. Many would have considered our display sacrilegious.  But, we chose not to borrow their convictions.)

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Why are you trying to keep Christ in Christmas?

  1. irishsignora says:

    And are we allowing ourselves to replace a heartfelt joy at the wonder of the Christ Child with heavy hearts brought on by forcing ourselves to eschew celebrations? What a wonderful, thought-provoking post. Peace be with you — Kelly

    • Cristal says:

      What an insightful thought, Kelly. Replacing that which Christ was born to give (joy) with heaviness…in controversies over celebrating HIS birth!

      Thanks for sharing your wisdom with me today.

      • irishsignora says:

        Any time 🙂 My husband and I wrestled with the controversies last month, and decided that if Christ Himself condemned exaggerated seriousness and dishonest displays of piety, we’d be pretty thick if we didn’t rejoice at His birth and share that joy with our tribe! I was terribly grateful for your post, because we had really wondered if we were the only parents who thought that all the hand-wringing over parties, twinkling lights, and gaily wrapped toys was a little . . . well . . . anti-Christish.

        • Cristal says:

          Each year, God draws me closer to understanding the focus of my worship and where I’m missing it at Christmas time. And, each year, I make adjustments. This is my journey as a Christian – being prompted BY HIM to alter my heart and adjust my perspective into alignment with HIS. I am the world’s worst at being tempted to adopt the convictions of others. And their convictions may actually be from the Lord, and it’s possible I’m just not there yet. But, I’ve made my family miserable (year-roud) borrowing other’s convictions in the past. Slowly, I’m learning it’s the motive of my heart that matters. 😉

  2. Peter Wiebe says:

    Bravo, Cristal!

  3. Kimmy says:

    Each family is different & we all have individual convictions. We (my family) have been guilty of being caught up in celebrating & practicing traditions without really knowing the meaning behind them. God has been slowing revealing these to us & we are so grateful to move forward in this.
    Not borrowing other convictions, I felt the pull from the Spirit this year to quit focusing so much on the gifts. I have that expectancy in my heart of “What will my husband get me this year?” & “Will I like it? or will it be wasted money?” & we, as a family recently discussed the questions,
    1. “How would God want us to celebrate Christmas?
    2. “Would He be pleased with how we act & what we do in this season?”
    So we all mutually agreed to not hang our stockings anymore & to show love by giving to others, specifically, the poor, widowed & orphaned, rather than putting so much emphasis on what to purchase for each other. It had to have been God because we were all in agreement with joy in this. Wow!!! I’m not sure what all God has in store for our family or for others (each family has their own convictions) but I feel that with our family, this is a start of letting go of traditions so that we may focus on Christ & I am excited to see how He will move in our hearts. 🙂

    • Cristal says:

      Bingo, Kimmy! You’ve got it. Your sincerity and sensitivity are clear indicators the motive of your heart is pure. And that’s my aim, as well. Why do I do what I do and why don’t I do what I don’t do? Is it because Christ has set His purposes in my heart and I am following His promptings? I pray it is so. I could glean much from you. Thank you for your heartfelt and transparent comment you’ve shared here with me. (And I’m also excited to see how God moves in your family!)

  4. Larry Who says:

    “Beloved, if our heart does not condemn us, we have confidence toward God.” (1 John 3:21)

    I love Christmas. I love Christmas trees, nativity scenes, Christmas carols, little kids so excited for their presents, Christmas meals, eggnog, and whatever goes along with Christmas. My heart does not condemn me so why should I listen to those people who want me to live under their dark clouds?

    And I love Caleb’s version of the nativity scene.

    • Cristal says:

      I was waiting for you, Larry! And I agree, there are dark clouds looming and inviting us to dwell under their presence. As we draw closer to Christ, His light shines on a clear path of obedience toward the purposes and ways of living which HE has designed for each of us. As He reveals His truths to me, I pray I am sensitive to His Spirit and not clouded with the confusion of the opinions of others.

      Caleb’s nativity scene…I just hope they aren’t worshipping the creation instead of the Creator. Know what I mean? 😉

  5. Rejoycin says:

    I love the nativity– and why would you rearrange the work of a child (I am assuming!). I enjoy much of the secular but I am personally very protective of “Keeping Christ in Christmas”. I wouldn’t miss The Grinch, our annual couch, blanket popcorn and hot chocolate viewing of Scrooge, my dancing Santa that we adorn with Barbies in his arms but, having said all this, Christmas morning when we sit under the tree we have taken time to read the the Christmas story from Luke in the bible, we make an effort to carry out, “What gift of ourselves can we give to others this year less fortunate“ and I personally never raised my child on Santa. She visited him as a fairy tale and I even let her go on his lap because she wanted buy my conviction was to share the it was a fun fairy tale and we were all about Christ and His birthday. At 13 we incorporate more secular now that she cannot be confused with the meaning. This was not anyone’s conviction but mine. It was very important to me that I not pretend Santa because I was concerned she would think Jesus ‘a pretend’. That being said, I believe your point is that we each follow our convictions and find our joy and meaning a serve in our own understanding and convictions. I imagine that is what Jesus would want, for us to follow Him and respond to the Holy Spirit through Him and godly others that He brings in our life. Ha ha— think I have my next blog!!
    Denise Be blessed!!!

    • Cristal says:

      I love your attitude – which is quite refreshing! For the record, we also never did the believe-in-Santa thing because I was concerned my boys would then question the other “truths” I’d told them. Gradually, God is bringing our family into unity about how we are to worship and live for Him (not just in December). What we do or don’t do may look different from another family. But, I am thankful He leads us individually on our paths and missions He has designed.

      And when you publish that blog post about convictions, please put a link here for us to read! 😉

      • Rejoycin says:

        Will do, Christs’ Love to You and Yours this Christmas, Denise

        • Rejoycin says:

          Eik! So many typos as I looked over it.. Quick without proofreading but sounds like you got through it! Denise

          • Cristal says:

            Well, I didn’t notice them, either! I won’t go back and look. 😉

            And I hope you have a blessed, refreshing, meaningful and peaceful Christmas.

            Cristal

            • Rejoycin says:

              I am posting Dec 9 the inspiration from your post. Things changed from my intent once I got in there! Creative license or Lack of focus?– hum, another post!
              I may still zero in on the intro and elaborate on the wood posted road signs so stay tuned– Denise Thanks!!!, we all edge one another on through Him!

  6. Judy says:

    Excellent questions, Cristal. Any time we follow crowds, Christian, secular or otherwise, we lose track of Jesus. I think he loves, approves of and joins with us in any way in which we sincerely love, honor and enjoy Him.

    • Cristal says:

      Your insight has given me a useful gauge, Judy. I want to check, in my daily walk, to see if I’m following crowds (even Christian crowds). I can easily be distracted and now see how this could be a fancy decoy to get me off track. Wow. Thank you for sharing!

  7. Pingback: Confessions of a holiday harlot | Refusing to Tiptoe

Your comments are treasured

