Confessions of a holiday harlot

The evil in our desire typically does not lie in what we want, but that we want it too much. (John Calvin)

dry by modomatic via flickr

SONY DSC

If you read my recent post, Why are you trying to keep Christ in Christmas?, you are aware we can borrow celebration convictions from others, having never allowed God to search our hearts individually to show us His desire for making Christmas merry.

It’s vital, for those seeking to grow deeper roots into the nourishing soil of Christ, to ask ourselves:

What are we expecting to bring us fulfillment, satisfaction, contentment, happiness, joy, pleasure, success or gratification?

The passing pleasures of a holiday render little more than a fleeting filling.

Yet, our hearts bow to masters and rulers exalted to positions they were never meant to hold.

Counterfeit, controlling forces dictate our joy.

And leave us empty.

And it came to pass through the lightness of her whoredom, that she defiled the land, and committed adultery with stones and with stocks. (Jeremiah 3:9)

Adultery committed against God.

Casual harlotry.

Idolatry.

You are like unfaithful wives having illicit love affairs with the world and breaking your marriage vow to God!

Do you not know that being the world’s friend is being God’s enemy?

So whoever chooses to be a friend of the world takes his stand as an enemy of God. (James 4:4)

A love affair with little gods.

Gleeful decorations.  Hearty fellowships.  Jubilant festivities.  Merry attire.

The giving of gifts.  Sharing of supper.

Even the glowing love of family.

Things that, in themselves, were perfectly good.

Until I built them a high place to occupy my heart.  Exalting them above God.

God uses an absolutely shocking analogy to bring us to our senses.

He tells us we are guilty of adultery.

What?

Yes.

When we practice soul idolatry by running to things other than God to meet our needs, we betray our one true Lover.

This is betrayal.

This is adultery.

Unless we sense God’s ravishing of us — we will fail to submit to Him and life will be futile.  (Dee Brestin)

God deals with our idols when He deals with our hearts.

He is the One who changes us.

fresh by like a duck via flickr

moist by likeaduck via flickr

Dismantling the idols is orchestrated by the only One powerful enough to dethrone them.

We offer obedience, surrender and trust.

Full access to our heart.

In turn, Christ offers freedom.

He will furnish a filling.

And we will finally be full.

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Confessions of a holiday harlot

  1. Larry Who says:

    Many years ago, I felt the Lord speak to my heart, “You can have nice possessions, such as houses or autos, just as long as they don’t possess you.” I took this to mean that I had to hold onto my possessions lightly and be willing to let go of them, especially of the Lord asked me to let go of them or give them away.

    Over the years, I’ve been put to severe tests concerning this, but though it all, I’ve had a deep peace.

    So, even though I love Christmas and all of the rigmarole surrounding it, I could walk away tomorrow and use the extra money to help feed the 9.9 million abandoned little girls in India. I’d not look back and have no withdrawals from not observing the holiday.

    • Cristal says:

      Such freedom, Larry! Your possessions don’t possess you. I think I am getting close (maybe) to where you are. Living with very little in this RV is certainly helping me get there. 😉

      I must confess, when driving through our old neighborhood just after Thanksgiving, I noticed all the lights and decorations going up. For a moment, I began wallowing in self-pity. “My boys are missing out because they won’t have a Christmas tree or decorations this year.” A few minutes later, God reminded me of the conditions we’d just left in Guatemala. Of the joy possessed by some of the most humble and financially poor people I’ve ever met. I then realized my boys ARE certainly missing out…but not because of a lack of holiday decor. They are missing out on witnessing a mom live joyfully in spite of her circumstances!

  2. conmakhalira says:

    Amen. Glory to God for this great post.

Your comments are treasured

