How I once ate a humble Girl Scout brownie (similar to eating humble pie)

As I spent time this morning in God’s Word, I was reminded of an opportunity for humbling when I was 10 years old.

It was a warm Texas summer, and I had packed my bags to set off for Girl Scout camp.  My mother reminded me to mind manners while there.  And my intentions were good.

Until one night by the campfire when a plate of delectable, chocolate brownies were presented to our group.  My eyes were captivated by the unveiling of scrumptious wonderfulness.  I was mesmerized by the thought of moist chocolate delighting my watering taste buds.

double chocolate walnut brownies by elena's pantry via flickr

I inconspicuously altered my location in the circle to a more favorable position.  For there was one colossal brownie calling my name, and I had to have it.

There ain’t no mountain high enough.
Ain’t no valley low enough.
Ain’t no river wide enough.
To keep me from getting to you.

I stayed the course and completed my mission.  The rich treat was mine.  And I savored every succulent morsel.

My ears perked when I heard our leader mention having enough dessert for everyone to have a second brownie.  However, the exhilaration of my heart fizzled quickly as her next sentence extinguished the flames of my flaring pride.

Everyone except Cristal.

Our troop leader explained there had been only one large brownie in the batch.  And only one eager scout could choose to snatch the tempting bait, leaving the smaller ones for the rest of her group.

That covetous brownie bandit was me.

I’d been caught.

brownie by elena's pantry via flickr

My prideful heart was exposed.  Embarrassment quickly took the reigns of my high horse, knocking my pompous swagger out of the saddle.  Shame and guilt flooded my soul.

Thirty years later, I can still feel the emotions surrounding that humbling episode.

I am thankful for the troop leader who was willing to teach a lesson to a high-minded Girl Scout.

Pride convinces us we deserve special treatment, recognition, or honor {and the largest brownie}.

Pride leads us to force our way into a situation {or reposition ourselves around the campfire} while humility waits.

(Priscilla Shirer, He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God)



I no longer hijack desserts from friends.  But I might hide in a closet to savor the last brownie instead of sharing.  I’m, obviously, a work in progress.

These photos of brownies are taken from Elena’s Pantry where I am able to find grain-free, sugar-free and dairy-free recipes for delectable chocolate brownies (and many other nom nom yummies).

Try them for yourself.  And be sure to share.

About Cristal

Living life fully as the wife of one, a mother of two and follower of The One.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How I once ate a humble Girl Scout brownie (similar to eating humble pie)

  1. Larry Who says:

    That would have been me eating the biggest brownie, too. But at the same time, your Girl Scout leader was a stinker (I wanted to write a stronger word but did not) for doing that. What in the world was the person thinking? Why not give a teaching first, then pass the brownies around? Pffft to the person!

    • Cristal says:

      Thanks for taking my side, Larry. I wish you could have been at Peach Creek Girl Scout camp 10 yrs ago to speak up for me. In defense of the troop leader, it’s highly likely she first did teach us about generosity, humility and good morals. I haven’t always been the one to pay attention at all times. Unless chocolate is the object of the lesson. 😉

  2. Thanks for sharing this story, Cristal. What a moment I’ll bet that must have been…yikes. And now I want a brownie 🙂

    • Cristal says:

      Ha ha ha! Me, too, Brian! As I was thinking about that brownie and then looking at the photos, I was craving that chocolate yumminess. But, our family is on a month-long nutrition challenge…so I’m stuck coveting other people’s brownies!

      • Oh that pesky nutrition, haha. It’s a good thing though and I need to do better about it. The apple fritter and doughnut I had yesterday would put me in the ‘FAIL’ category…time to find some fruit here. Have a great day!

Your comments are treasured

