Faith, Thanks Living

Discovering beauty on the other side of the coin

As we were leaving the Chimpanzee movie last week, I expressed to Caleb my frustration with the bad guys (or evil chimps) in the movie. 

Caleb paused. 

Then, using his gift of goodness, he gently corrected his mother.

You’re only seeing what the producer of the movie wanted you to see and the way he wanted you to see it.

Allowing the truth to soak in briefly, Caleb explained.

Scar and his guys were hungry, too.

But, the movie didn’t show us that part.

He was right.  I’d taken the bait.  Hook, line and sinker.  I was mad at Scar and his gnarly chimps for attacking Freddy’s troop.  (Because that’s where cute Oscar lived.) 

I’d only looked at the surface of what the film had provided. 

coins 1 by derbeth via flickr

Caleb, on the flip side, perceived the other group of chimps in a different light.  Realizing they were hungry, he had compassion for them.  Even when that emotion was never offered through the viewing of this film. 

Caleb has a gift of seeing the other side of the coin.  This week, when his teammates were complaining about a player not sliding into the base during a baseball game, costing them dearly, Caleb defended the boy. 

But no one’s taught him how to slide.

His recent comments of compassion have me realizing there is a beautiful side to the currency of life awaiting my attention. 

A finding of goodness beheld by the few who will search deeper. 

While Caleb takes time to flip the coin and consider the bottom side, I glance briefly at the surface. 

The quick inspection of what’s seen face up. 

And then a superficial passing of judgment.

coins by freefotouk via flickr

I want to begin taking the time to flip the coin over. 

Seeing others the way Jesus sees them. 

Viewing situations through God’s eyes. 

I believe there’s a beautiful side of life awaiting discovery on the other side of the coin.

…in humility consider others as more important than yourselves.  (Philippians 2:3b)


For more encouragement to reach down and flip over the coins:

In the meantime (while hoping for CANDY in the nice time!)

A change in *SEE*nery

One thousand gifts in 2012: I dare you

Thanksgiving and smoldering ashes

31 thoughts on “Discovering beauty on the other side of the coin”

  1. Your Caleb is one insightful young man. I am particularly impressed by his discernment of the way the chimp story was told and what it left out. Thanks for challenging me to flip the coin a few times to make sure I’m not missing anything!

    1. Yes, Judy, he is insightful. I’m not sure what I’ll do next year without him (he’s possibly starting public school like his brother). 😦 There’s no telling how much I will miss without him reminding me to check the flipside.

  2. Such an insightful son you have. 🙂 So full of grace. I think I am going to prayerfully flip coins with you and your son. Blessed by this post today Cristal.

    1. Thank you, Dan. You are quite generous with your kindness. I appreciate you. And I’ve enjoyed reading of your recent trip to Sudan and the ways you Refuse to Tiptoe! 🙂

    1. Thank you for reblogging! I am very grateful. I’m also glad you found me so I could find you! I can see I’m going to enjoy reading your blog. 🙂

  3. Your son reminds me a lot of myself. Many’s the time I’ve helped those around me to calm down and view the ‘problem’ person with compassion because of some unseen factor. The funny thing with me is that I’m not an emotional or particularly perceptive person, so I can tell it’s all God. I think the Holy Spirit sometimes lets us see things on a deeper level and get out of the way to imagine what the other person is really going through. It has always helped me keep control of my temper because I know that they are absorbed in their own problems without regard for offending me.
    Kudos for your son and his ability to listen to the Holy Spirit!!

    1. You’ve hit the nail on the head. The Holy Spirit is at the center of having the ability to “get out of the way” (as you so fitly described). I want to remember those words you wrote, in fact, to keep me on track. Get out of the way, Cristal!

    1. Great question. My older son did seem more perceptive at 12yo (versus his new teenage “brightness”). 😉

      I am glad you stopped by! I can’t wait to browse you blog!!

  4. God is using Caleb now and preparing him for what is next. I thank God for this precious boy. He is going to be a mighty man of God one day!

    1. Thank you for always encouraging me, Aliceson. Your friendship is a great treasure for which I’ll forever be grateful. I am glad you can see, from a distance, what I too often cannot see close-up. 😉

  5. Cristal, I am so glad I stumbled upon your blog. Your words make me think about things and help me gain perspective. Thankyou for sharing!

    1. I am so glad we’ve reconnected, Charlsey! You are an amazing wife and mom. And I could glean so much from you! (It seems I could also learn to jump from you…is that you, Charl-C…with a record box jump at CFBC???) 😉

  6. Such a sweet example of someone extending grace! So many times I jump to conclusions after hearing only one side. There are always two sides to everything — I think every mother of multiple children learns this early on! Thank you so much for the reminder to look for at least two sides and to extend grace like this. And thank you, too, for your sweet words on my blog today. They were so much appreciated!

    1. I am glad you stopped by, Cora. I am thankful for your encouraging comments. Yes, there are always two sides! And that’s where we choose grace in order to look for the flipside.

  7. This was a stellar post! Wow! I thought of you when I read Ann’s post today. She said

    When one consistently chooses cyberspace over holy space — life becomes a hollow place.

    I know you are cutting your time down on the computer to make more holy space, but I’m sure glad you took this time to share “…the other side of the coin.”

    Hug that son of yours lots,
    Dawn

    1. Thank you for your kind words, Dawn. And for sharing that quote. It has been quite a while since visiting Ann’s blog (put a pause on blog browsing without purpose). So, I am grateful you confirmed my conviction! Hopefully, I’m on the right track. 😉

      Much love to you, my friend.
      Cristal

  8. Cristal, I enjoyed reading your post! I love how you payed attention to how your son views things. May we all take the time to do that for our children. We often can learn a lot from them!

Your comments are treasured